People/things I thank for supporting Hibs

GORDONSMITH7

Influencers, consequences, out of the ordinary, against the expected, luck, tell all X. There are dozens of die hard Hibernians from not only outside Little Ireland, Edinburgh, Leith, .....North, South, East, and West and Internationally.

This to kick off from Ifield Hibee...

I love Hibs, I thank my brother Les for taking me from Perth to Edinburgh in 1972, he passed 12 years ago.

I will always love Hibs.

My family were brought up for many decades in No 13 Blackfriars Street, Little Ireland , stretching from The High Street, down to the Cowgate. It was a given as my Dad and wifes Dad grew up there that I would be a Hibee. Huge Hibs connection but zero Leith, except the bairns, now all dead walked from Blackie down and up and down Easter Road to attend St. Anthony's School.

I thank my father and mother baptising me Gordon McKinley, in 1954, due to my father's utter adulation of the Gay Gordon, the Prince of Wingers,possibly Hibernian FCs greatest ever player.
I know that several pals dad's concur.

My dad was the biggest influence on me being a Hibs supporter. He supported the club from the age of 10 and was lucky enough to watch the Famous Five play every week and watch Hibs win League Championships. My dad also idolised Gordon Smith and to this day says he has never seen anyone better. He also got to know Lawrie Reilly well as he was a regular in the Bowlers Arms.

My family, all my relations and most of my mates at school and the street I grew up in in Restalrig (which was a 15 min walk from Easter Road) were Hibs fans. There was no doubt what team I was going to support. My dad however as I say was the biggest influence.

My dad was the biggest influence on me being a Hibs supporter. He supported the club from the age of 10 and was lucky enough to watch the Famous Five play every week and watch Hibs win League Championships. My dad also idolised Gordon Smith and to this day says he has never seen anyone better. He also got to know Lawrie Reilly well as he was a regular in the Bowlers Arms.

My family, all my relations and most of my mates at school and the street I grew up in in Restalrig (which was a 15 min walk from Easter Road) were Hibs fans. There was no doubt what team I was going to support. My dad however as I say was the biggest influence.

GM I just received this from a self isolated, regarding the Bounce, and the Covid, but the splendid pal of mines Hibernian Mike Mike......

Re: your post about supporting Hibs Gordon. My Grandad on my Dad’s side moved up from teeside in early 30s. Married my Granny from Catholic family in West Port. Lived in Albert St and became a Hibs fanatic. My Dad went to 1st game after WWII as a six year old. My mum’s side were Irish Catholics.
I was brought up at the top of Easter Road.
I was unlikely to be a Jambo!?

MadMike.

Thanks amigo.

GM I just received this from a self isolated, regarding the Bounce, and the Covid, but the splendid pal of mines Hibernian Mike Mike....

Re: your post about supporting Hibs Gordon. My Grandad on my Dad’s side moved up from teeside in early 30s. Married my Granny from Catholic family in West Port. Lived in Albert St and became a Hibs fanatic. My Dad went to 1st game after WWII as a six year old. My mum’s side were Irish Catholics.
I was brought up at the top of Easter Road.
I was unlikely to be a Jambo!?

MadMike.

Thanks amigo.

Don't think Mrs Mad Mike would've had anything to do with a Jambo either!

20160712_105203.jpg

A massive thank you Hibernian Stalwarts, Frank Duggan and Gavin Gilles.

Had no history in my family of Hibs supporters (possibly my grandad from Liverpool had a leaning to them when he moved to Edinburgh but unsure) Only thing I can put it down to is the success of Turnbulls tornadoes, maybe also influenced by friends at primary school but again have no recollection why I bucked the trend in my family. There is a few in my family because of my decision now though

Before me were Jambos on Mother's side of the family, well they did come from Balgreen. But going back in that family also took in Fife were I know there was at least one East Fife supporter. My dads family I know little of except his Dad moved up from Bootle. He was Catholic and they lived in Causewayside. But if I went back further in family tree Id be in East Lothian, Dundee, Dublin...guess I will just thank big Eddie and his fine team

Had no history in my family of Hibs supporters (possibly my grandad from Liverpool had a leaning to them when he moved to Edinburgh but unsure) Only thing I can put it down to is the success of Turnbulls tornadoes, maybe also influenced by friends at primary school but again have no recollection why I bucked the trend in my family. There is a few in my family because of my decision now though
Splendid Davy.

I just thank fuck Geat Grandad, got it right, as did my Grandad, my Dad got it right, that I got it right, that my sons have got it right and my grandchildren are getting it right. I will die happy. Believe me.

For me, my dad is of Irish catholic heritage, lived between Lochend and Musselburg. His family were split hibs and sellick but I think two things made him hibs, one he hated all things in life that are rich big and bullying and two he hated the notion that Irish catholics ‘should‘ support sellick. For me then I grew up first in Easter road and then abbeyhill and I got taken to games young. I mind the fickle fans in primary school and just couldnt understand the notion of changing your team. I’ve told my kids they have free choice in all aspects of life except football team and politics. So far so good.

I've kent John and your ma Lammy (spl) for 50 years. Two things have meant something in our relationship over the years, that John,like me, is a radical Socialist, as is your mother and that he is an old school Hibernian. All these years I have never asked his religion nor him mine. That's the fucking difference.

Yep it was my dad who indoctrinated me too.I think my mum said to him if he didn't take us off to the football she'd batter him with a rolling pin .Anyway he took my brother and I to the games,my first a close season game against Newcastle.I wasn't too sure of the rules-so nothing much has changed and I noticed Shevlin cause of his red hair and Cormack who had two bandaged knees, but I fell in love with Colin Stein.Anyway he'd regaile us with stories of the famous five and we got to know a different side to him.'Sweary Dad' a new super hero.So it's his fault really.

I was at Colin Stein's first game for the Hibs in 1965/6

I've got stories about North Netherlands Hibernian Supporters but that can wait.

Sent to me by PM by a phantom... who said that this is why he started supporting Hibs and still does to this day.
I was 19 years auld but concur entirely that that day at Tynecastle was cathartic.

Jim O'Rourke broke no sweat when he put the ball in the Jamtarts net, Bye Bye Jamtarts

Alan Gordon
running through, hammered home number two, Bye Bye Jamtarts

Bobby Seith
thought he was dreaming, when Arthur Duncan hammered number three in.

The Hibees choir cried out for more, and Alex Cropley made it four, Bye Bye Jamtarts

Arthur Duncan
took a dive, headed home number five, Bye Bye Jamtarts

Paddy Stanton
showed his tricks, as Jim O'Rourke made it six, Bye Bye Jamtarts

The Hibs support
were in Seventh Heaven, when Alan Gordon headed number seven,

The Hibs support had their fill, the final score was seven nil, Jamtarts Bye Bye.

Splendid.

This to kick off from Ifield Hibee...

I love Hibs, I thank my brother Les for taking me from Perth to Edinburgh in 1972, he passed 12 years ago.

I will always love Hibs.

For the record the game my brother took me to was Hibs 7 St Johnstone 1. I was 12.

Had many fantastic days with my brother following Hibs.

My father lived on a Croft about 10 miles from PD. The army used to do manouevres on the moss near the croft, (just after WW2) and this squaddie arrived on the Croft looking to barter or buy some eggs.
He got friendly with my grandparents/ parents and was a regular visitor at weekends.
Later in the 50's my folks visited this man and his family in Lochend.
His name was Davie Wightman. He took my father along to ER to see his first ever game of football. It happened to be the Famous five era.
I came along not long after, and though I was football daft..... my father used to take me to pittodrie for European matches which I enjoyed.......but it never really got my juices flowing.
Took me to see Aberdeen v Hibs one Wednesday evening and I was hooked.
We later started jaunting to Edinburgh to see the Hibs and about the 3rd _ 4th time he said we would go and visit these people in Lochend( if they were still living there?).
He remembered the house. Knocked on the door and this woman answered it.
She recognised my father instantly.
Sadly , her husband had died earlier that year, so I didnt get to meet the man partly responsible for me being a Hibby, but his widowJean, was a guest at my wedding in 1979.
Long story, but that is why I'm a Hibby.
In a hun infested Toon.

I support Hibs because of my auld boy,no religious or particular Leith connections.

Home games would be standing outside Tommy Youngers or Shades wi juice and crisps and mucking about wi a couple of pals and as i got a bit older Robbies was and still is my Hibs pub.

Used to travel on the Goram branch bus wi my Dad and his pals run from the Marina Hotel and would pick up at the Swiss Cottage at Gylemuir,it would be fair to say growing up I saw more of Scotland from a Hibs bus window than I ever did holiday wise.

Couple of pics,1 is Hands Off Hibs day outside Shades wi my Dad,Big G,Shaun,Danny and others.
The other league cup final day at Parkheid against the Huns7AE9B3E7-DC80-4BEB-BF11-747B294E7EF0.jpeg

• 4D8AC174-BCA7-4851-B122-EBA0A9369CE3.jpeg
    4D8AC174-BCA7-4851-B122-EBA0A9369CE3.jpeg
    172 KB · Views: 38
My father lived on a Croft about 10 miles from PD. The army used to do manouevres on the moss near the croft, (just after WW2) and this squaddie arrived on the Croft looking to barter or buy some eggs.
He got friendly with my grandparents/ parents and was a regular visitor at weekends.
Later in the 50's my folks visited this man and his family in Lochend.
His name was Davie Wightman. He took my father along to ER to see his first ever game of football. It happened to be the Famous five era.
I came along not long after, and though I was football daft..... my father used to take me to pittodrie for European matches which I enjoyed.....but it never really got my juices flowing.
Took me to see Aberdeen v Hibs one Wednesday evening and I was hooked.
We later started jaunting to Edinburgh to see the Hibs and about the 3rd _ 4th time he said we would go and visit these people in Lochend( if they were still living there?).
He remembered the house. Knocked on the door and this woman answered it.
She recognised my father instantly.
Sadly , her husband had died earlier that year, so I didnt get to meet the man partly responsible for me being a Hibby, but his widowJean, was a guest at my wedding in 1979.
Long story, but that is why I'm a Hibby.
In a hun infested Toon.
Fantastic story.

I wasn't always a Hibby. My football rebirth happened when my daughter was very ill in the sick kids. Hibs were unbelievably kind to her and the whole family in general. Match day tickets, stadium tours, strips, match day mascot, pretty much anything we wanted.
Since then I've felt I owed the club, big time and I still do.

I support Hibs because of my auld boy,no religious or particular Leith connections.

Home games would be standing outside Tommy Youngers or Shades wi juice and crisps and mucking about wi a couple of pals and as i got a bit older Robbies was and still is my Hibs pub.

Used to travel on the Goram branch bus wi my Dad and his pals run from the Marina Hotel and would pick up at the Swiss Cottage at Gylemuir,it would be fair to say growing up I saw more of Scotland from a Hibs bus window than I ever did holiday wise.

Couple of pics,1 is Hands Off Hibs day outside Shades wi my Dad,Big G,Shaun,Danny and others.
The other league cup final day at Parkheid against the HunsView attachment 4056
Thats a tremendous photo. I was interviewed by Kirsty Wark on BBC 2 Def 11 during the hands of hibs campaign. Wish I had a copy

I've kent John and your ma Lammy (spl) for 50 years. Two things have meant something in our relationship over the years, that John,like me, is a radical Socialist, as is your mother and that he is an old school Hibernian. All these years I have never asked his religion nor him mine. That's the fucking difference.

Aye, Lami and John were both pretty much born again evangelical athiests so not surprising that religion didn't crop up. I've enjoyed reading this thread G, cheers

Wonderful thread G.

I have a number of people to thank for being a Hibs fan. My Mum and Dad are both Leith born as were my four grandparents and generations before that. My Dad's dad, Stewart was born and brought up in Balfour Street, but was a season card holder at Tynecastle, the classic Leith Jambo, I even mind what the wee card thing looked like. However, his other team was, wait for it, Hibs! I come from what I like to think is a typical Edinburgh family, a mix of Catholic and Protestant, Hibs and Hearts, no old firm fans and even the non fitba fans 'preferred' one team or the other. My auld man was a Jambo as a kid but never took us to the football, my Mum is a Hibs fan, she gets up to high doe listening to the Hibs on the radio every weekend to this day!

Even though I lived out in Livingston by then, both my Granda and I were fitba daft and he would take me to Tynecastle one week, Easter Road the next. Hibernian in glorious emerald green, Hearts in skid mark maroon. I mind the climb up the auld high terrace steps, the view of Arthurs seat and the Forth the wafts of tobacco smoke and pies. All I mind of tynecastle is it being dark and smelling slightly of pish.

In the early 70's, Hibs were a joy to watch, Turnbull's Tornadoes, Hearts were pretty poor. I chose Hibs as my team and I would be sent on the 201 bus from Craigshill to St Andrew's Square, then walk down Picardy Place to my Granda's shop on the corner of London Road and Blenheim Place (he worked saturday mornings) and onwards to the football.

Once Hibs became my chosen team, it was my Hibs Uncles that took me along. My Uncle Hughie Manson from Pennywell was Hibs daft and would take me to home games, plonking me outside the Social Club* in the club car park behind the auld big terracing with juice and crisps before plonking me on the wall at the front of the terracing for each game. (* Can anyone mind the name of that Social Club, was it related to Lothian Buses?).

As I got a bit older, I would go with my pals from Livingston on the 201 bus, often joining my Mum's youngest brother Billy who had a flat in Albert Street, which we thought was cool! I have always argued Hibs have a large support out in Livingston and in towns such East and Mid Calder, Pumpherston, Winchburgh, Uphall and Broxburn and we would all jump on the Uphall and Broxburn Hibs Supporters Bus which picked up in all the aforementioned towns, travelling around Scotland following Hibs, and making friends I still have to this day. My best mate still goes home and away with me every week. We lived next door to each other in Crazyhill!

I also made many Hibs pals through the casual era, again many are friends for life. I worked abroad for five years and when I came home with my young family, and I picked up my life time affair with Hibernian. This era is the one where through initially being an admin on Hibs Net and subsequently a founding member of the Bounce, I have met thousands of Hibs fans, many of whom I consider good friends of mine now.

I thank each and every one of them, each and every one of you. The Hibernian Family, whilst suffering from the odd arsehole, and regularly disfunctional, is in the main a wonderful thing to be part of.

I mentioned my old man at the top of these ramblings. My Dad was an ill man for many years before we lost him last year, he could barely walk the length of himself most days. That glorious day in May, when the cup finally came home to Easter Road, my Mum and Dad settled down to watch the final on the telly. Sir David Gray, captain of Hibernian, scored that header in the 92nd minute of the game, my old man, brought up a Hearts fan, leaped out his chair like Lazarus, shouting "Ya Fucking Beauty" as the ball nestled in the net. He could have brought me up a Jambo, he never did. Thanks Dad.

Aye, Lami and John were both pretty much born again evangelical athiests so not surprising that religion didn't crop up. I've enjoyed reading this thread G, cheers
Not since John since lockdown. Hope he's well. Don't think he posts on here, could you pass on my regards?

I thank my grandfather, who was from Lockerbie and a QOTS fan, who took my dad, who had just moved to Edinburgh to work for Ferranti, to see Hibs v QOTS in the cup. Hibs won 9-3 and my dad was hooked. This was the early 50s.

I thank my parents for being die hard home and away Hibs fans and taking me and a few of my pals to the games, several of us packed into the car. My parents watched Hibs together for over 50 years before my dad died. I grew up in 70s Muirhouse, which was all Hibs. A couple of Huns, a couple of Jambos, but it was very much a Hibs area at that time.

As well as family and school friends, I have met some wonderful people through Hibs, many I consider good friends and right now I miss the games, not just the fitba itself, but train journeys, pubs, banter, that chat with other Hibbys and everything else that goes with following the green and white.

Thanks to my Dad. ???

Late 60s. My Brother, I never got on with him and he supported Hearts. Also my father, who although he was a rugby player and fan, said that Hibs were the team that played football.

My Dad was a hibby and a leither so it was always Hibs for me. He was old school though, and in his younger days him and his mates went week about to ER and the pbs . While no doubting his allegiance, he probably liked the gunts winning if they weren't playing Hibs. He absolutely hated the OF, and also hated the violence and hooligans who began using football as a fighting ground. He refused to go the big hatred games ( including the gunts) so my younger experiences were limited.
Once I got a paper round and could afford to go myself , I then made bonds with fellow hibees which still last to this day.And of course you carry on and make more. It is a family feel club I think. If you come across fellow Hibbys in day to day life, you tend to go that extra mile for them, and likewise them you.
What has always amazed me is folk who support different teams than their father!! If my lad had ever came to me and said "I want to support gunts\sevco/ smellies, I would have been gutted, sickened!!
Thankfully , thats not the case and the taking him to games , and the fact it is in his blood has seen to that. I have always thought , well, I had to go through it , so do you!!! Its good character building!! And every now and then , they throw in a nugget which keeps the addiction going!!
We wouldn't have it any other way I'm sure .

So my family are from Irish Catholic descent brought up in the southside, St Pat’s parishioners then moved to marionville before ww2. Obviously Hibs fans and my dad huge fan off Gordon Smith. But.....he lost interest in Hibs and when my older brothers started following fitba early 80’s it was Celtic and of course I followed them. It didn’t sit right with me so in adulthood I did change my team but it was going back to my roots! With dementia all my dad could remember was the famous 5 so I’m sure I am where I should be.

Wonderful thread G.

I have a number of people to thank for being a Hibs fan. My Mum and Dad are both Leith born as were my four grandparents and generations before that. My Dad's dad, Stewart was born and brought up in Balfour Street, but was a season card holder at Tynecastle, the classic Leith Jambo, I even mind what the wee card thing looked like. However, his other team was, wait for it, Hibs! I come from what I like to think is a typical Edinburgh family, a mix of Catholic and Protestant, Hibs and Hearts, no old firm fans and even the non fitba fans 'preferred' one team or the other. My auld man was a Jambo as a kid but never took us to the football, my Mum is a Hibs fan, she gets up to high doe listening to the Hibs on the radio every weekend to this day!

Even though I lived out in Livingston by then, both my Granda and I were fitba daft and he would take me to Tynecastle one week, Easter Road the next. Hibernian in glorious emerald green, Hearts in skid mark maroon. I mind the climb up the auld high terrace steps, the view of Arthurs seat and the Forth the wafts of tobacco smoke and pies. All I mind of tynecastle is it being dark and smelling slightly of pish.

In the early 70's, Hibs were a joy to watch, Turnbull's Tornadoes, Hearts were pretty poor. I chose Hibs as my team and I would be sent on the 201 bus from Craigshill to St Andrew's Square, then walk down Picardy Place to my Granda's shop on the corner of London Road and Blenheim Place (he worked saturday mornings) and onwards to the football.

Once Hibs became my chosen team, it was my Hibs Uncles that took me along. My Uncle Hughie Manson from Pennywell was Hibs daft and would take me to home games, plonking me outside the Social Club* in the club car park behind the auld big terracing with juice and crisps before plonking me on the wall at the front of the terracing for each game. (* Can anyone mind the name of that Social Club, was it related to Lothian Buses?).

As I got a bit older, I would go with my pals from Livingston on the 201 bus, often joining my Mum's youngest brother Billy who had a flat in Albert Street, which we thought was cool! I have always argued Hibs have a large support out in Livingston and in towns such East and Mid Calder, Pumpherston, Winchburgh, Uphall and Broxburn and we would all jump on the Uphall and Broxburn Hibs Supporters Bus which picked up in all the aforementioned towns, travelling around Scotland following Hibs, and making friends I still have to this day. My best mate still goes home and away with me every week. We lived next door to each other in Crazyhill!

I also made many Hibs pals through the casual era, again many are friends for life. I worked abroad for five years and when I came home with my young family, and I picked up my life time affair with Hibernian. This era is the one where through initially being an admin on Hibs Net and subsequently a founding member of the Bounce, I have met thousands of Hibs fans, many of whom I consider good friends of mine now.

I thank each and every one of them, each and every one of you. The Hibernian Family, whilst suffering from the odd arsehole, and regularly disfunctional, is in the main a wonderful thing to be part of.

I mentioned my old man at the top of these ramblings. My Dad was an ill man for many years before we lost him last year, he could barely walk the length of himself most days. That glorious day in May, when the cup finally came home to Easter Road, my Mum and Dad settled down to watch the final on the telly. Sir David Gray, captain of Hibernian, scored that header in the 92nd minute of the game, my old man, brought up a Hearts fan, leaped out his chair like Lazarus, shouting "Ya Fucking Beauty" as the ball nestled in the net. He could have brought me up a Jambo, he never did. Thanks Dad.
Emotional, fantastic story.

That to me is why the players need to “get” Hibs.

My dad is the reason I support Hibernian. He grew up around Danderhall, his father a Ukrainian, his mother Scottish but she lived her entire childhood abroad. His pals at school got him interested in football, one of them was a Hibee who invited him along to a game at Easter Road. My dad was instantly hooked. As a young man he regularly went during the early 70s, including the New Year’s Day demolition of Hearts at Tynecastle.

I should add that my mother’s entire, and very large, family are all Hibs daft. That’s despite the fact that her mother, a born and bread Leither, was a Jambo!

By the time I was primary school age, we’d moved to the borders. I went to a primary school where there were only seven other boys in the class, all of them Huns. Initially I wanted to be like the other lads at school and support the same team as them. If my Dad hadn’t taught me the very valuable life lesson of not bowing to peer pressure at such a young age, I wouldn’t have been standing next to him at Hampden on that glorious day in May.

I mentioned my old man at the top of these ramblings. My Dad was an ill man for many years before we lost him last year, he could barely walk the length of himself most days. That glorious day in May, when the cup finally came home to Easter Road, my Mum and Dad settled down to watch the final on the telly. Sir David Gray, captain of Hibernian, scored that header in the 92nd minute of the game, my old man, brought up a Hearts fan, leaped out his chair like Lazarus, shouting "Ya Fucking Beauty" as the ball nestled in the net.

You told that wonderful story about your dad on here when he passed away and I remember thinking it told me everything I needed to know about what kind of man he was. I bet he didn't have an ounce of hate in his body, he cheered that goal because he knew how much joy it would bring to you, his son; not like most of us present-day football fans who unfortunately take as much pleasure in gloating over our rivals' misfortunes as we do in celebrating our own club's achievements. My own father who I guess was from the same generation as yours was exactly the same.

I come from a Hibs-supporting family from Leith. And the rest, as they say is ... 21.05.2016.
To be continued.

My brother first got me interested in Hibs when I was 4 and he was 13. First game I went to was with my Uncle, who had recently returned from New Zealand after about 20 years, who supported Edinburgh but preferred Hearts. Brisk walk down Smokey Brae and got my first real sight of the huge terracing that i'd only heard the roars from when in the backgreens of Piershill.
Once my brother was considered old enough to look after me we travelled on the Hawkhill bus then in his car and i'd visited most grounds before I left primary school.
THAT day at Hampden made up for all the disappointments and I know our Uncle Robert would be just as happy as we were.

I was at Colin Stein's first game for the Hibs in 1965/6

Truth is I was such a fan,that when he went to the Huns I became a hun too.I have said this before.I supported the Hibs all year,but when it came to Huns games I put on my hun bonnet and top.My dad would take me to the game and protect me from all the Hibees who wanted to strangle me.I must have lasted about two seasons then I went back to being a hibbie once my dad explained bloody sunday to me.

Thats a tremendous photo. I was interviewed by Kirsty Wark on BBC 2 Def 11 during the hands of hibs campaign. Wish I had a copy
Then you would have got the campaign name right.

This thread has been viewed 5517 times.