Just back and that was frankly poor

Hibs, Hibs, Hibs, Hibs, that was not good enough. Saints played well, they are a good football team, but have nothing up front, yet we gave them two goals. We carried three or four players tonight, I would drop them all. We also subbed one of two of our best midfielders, whilst leaving the chancers on, work that one on out?

It was a good, open game, as I said they are a good team, we can be too, but not tonight. I reckon Paul Hanlon started with an injury he knew he had, he was rotten right up until he went off. Daz came on a done fine for a man a yard slow. Porto was pretty poor too, way too many mistakes. Paul McGinn is a glint of good in a lump of very average shite, two goals and some desire. My nephew reckoned his passing was off, I would say the players he passed to were.

At half time I phone the Leith Polis, and reported Mallan, Newell, Nisbet and Boyle missing, I phoned with 10 to go to add that Doidge too was missing. The polis asked I call back in 48 hours as all five had been seen in the HIbs changing room at half time, four hiding, one crying out for a good pass.

As I said, positives was Super Paul's two goals, Sean Mackie did well, given he was his own on the left much of the game, Murph had 60 smashing minutes, Gogic stopped them somewhat, we took him off and looked poor without him and the goalie lost two goals with very little to do???? We are a decent top six club, nothing more.

The team....

Rocky, very little to do, lost two goals.

Paul McGinn, no much defending to do and scored two gooals.

Ryan Porteous, way too many mistakes for me.

Paul Hanlon, should not of started, he was error strewn when on then went off hurt.

Sean Mackie, I felt done well and is settling in fine.

Alex Gogic should not have gone off, he was working well behind the invisible men Newell and Mallan.

Newell, sorry offered nothing all game, was awful.

Mallan, he was worse than Newell, in both positions he played.

Boyle, one good move is not enough, rotten, drop him.

Murph, excellent most of the game, tried very hard and looks a player?

Nissie, looked lost and alone with no service, waste of a good player.

The subs

Daz for Paul after 20 minutes, a yard slow and partly at fault at one goal, but ok.

Doidge for Gogic after 55 minutes, why? Gogic was doing fine, and Doidge is back in his useless Heckingbottom days. Waste of a substitution and did not link up with Nissie.

Jamie Gullan for Nissie with 10 to go, if you wish to make a change like that give the laddie a chance to do something.

The Boss

Jack spoke on the radio, he reckoned we showed character and looked a threat? Mmmm? When exactly? Hanlon ripped his tights, will be back for next league game. He praised Murph, rightly so and he reckons he just needs a run of games, I agree. Best wide, again I agree. He reckons we have not had too many draws at home, sorry Jack, we have. He thinks good season so far, I say, good enough, could have been much much better. I do find us a wee bit boring.

St Johnstone

A good team with good players, playing good football on a much smaller budget than us. Who is getting this wrong at Hibs? Couldnae score in a brother yet two mistakes gave them two goals.

The Ref

The lanky streak of ppish was fine.

Man of the Match

Would have been Murph but for two excellent goals from Super Paul McGinn. Well done Paul.

Next up is Dundee in the league cup on Saturday at 3pm. Not too many changes Jack, but if you do, drop Mallan and Boyle, they were pish tonight.

Somes up how most feel Sunderland fans always went on about how many draws they had under Jack, hopefully its isn't an issue with us .
Our style of fitba is a bit hard to watch though.

I agree with your Just back.To many passengers .I honestly don’t think Ross has the answers.

Somes up how most feel Sunderland fans always went on about how many draws they had under Jack, hopefully its isn't an issue with us .

Some of that is the poor performances of players though, not just tactics.

Very disappointing again! Why take the only player in midfield off who can tackle and disrupt their style of play and leave four powder puff players in midfield that couldn’t tackle the proverbial fish supper!! Agree with 1875 about missing players but Mallan was a complete waste of a jersey AGAIN and offered a grand total of HEE HAW. Time to make changes Jack FFS

Some of that is the poor performances of players though, not just tactics.
Yeah when so many 5 and 6 yard passes go astray you start to worry , we only seem to pass accurately when we go back the way

Usually signafies a lack of confidence.

Think it’s clear mallan and newell can’t play together in midfield. And Doidge was horrible when he came on his passing is shocking

Great Just Back, shame about the result! I guess poor would have been losing to a very decent St Johnstone, which we nearly did! I would have hooked Newell rather than Gogic, which opened up gaps in our middle. It's a cliche but we really need to be winning these if we have desires on third place. Mackie really is like a brick sh*thouse with curtains, if not the best defender!
The commentator did say there may have been some fatigue after the Thellick match, fair enough.

I actually thought Newell done ok and tried to play a bit. Thought that was Nissies poorest game to date, aye he set up the first goal but nowt after that.
For me, Porto is another one who's went back the way, too much pressure and expectations on young shoulders?
You're right St Johnstone are a good team, but they're not that f*****g good

Mallan and Newell typified the lacklustre overall performance. Both have attributes but they cannot play as the central midfield 2. Too soft and too passive, jogging about without drive or purpose.

We miss Scott Allan in there and we miss an in form Martin Boyle; he has just not been himself this season bar the first few games. His drop in form coincides with his new contract. He needs dropped to try and reignite some fire inside him, IMO.

Didn't see tonight. Thanks for the Just Back. Boyle sounds he was again the passenger he's been for weeks. Two points dropped and why we will finish behind Aberdeen and be looking over our shoulders at Dundee United. Results are not good enough.

Ross got it wrong. Doidge on for Gogic? Also Murphy was moved to a more central role at the same time. So the player most likely to give Doidge decent service, was moved from the left wing, which left Mackie on his own.
Murphy, Nissie and Newell all should have made more of their chances.
I said after the sheep game that there was a lack of togetherness in the team, seen it in spades tonight.

We are losing goals regularly now...something we were not doing earlier on in the season when we were getting lots of wins. We have to become more resilient again.

Lack of competition in central defence does not help. Darren McGregor didn't have a good game tonight, but he is not playing regular football and at his age that will show big time when he is called upon to play. No reserve league means several players are not getting any matches to get game sharp.

Hopefully we can beat Dundee on Saturday to get to the League Cup quarter finals, then it's a full week preparation for the Motherwell game at Fir Park.

We are going through a bit of a lean period in terms of results, but we'll get things sorted. Every team goes through sticky spells during the season. We need to tighten up and become the solid unit we were earlier in the season.

I thought Newell did better when he got further up the pitch. Unfortunately he couldnae score in a brothel. Mallan was just meh. Hanlon I don't think's fit and McGregor even more so. I think that's rubbing off on Porteous who looks like a nervous wreck. It's good to see we have two decent backs though and with Doig on the bench. Think the two on Hibs tv said he could play half back? Too many inconsistent players. Annoying ,we know Mallan and Newell have got some fitba' in them.Doidge too.

To many games (and injuries) in to short a time is catching up on us not that can be much of an excuse as same applies to Saints who looked more eager, hungry and confident and probably shaded the game.

Faither Time and lack of games is catching up on "YLT" Daz and the spine of the team so strong earlier this year looks shorn of confidence.?

What a pity there isn't any outlet or forum to get Jack's explanation for hooking Gogic. ?

That was a substitution out of nowhere far more suited to the last 15 minutes or when chasing a game not early in the second half as it just meant a struggling midfield were just going to have to struggle that little bit more.

It did get Doidge and Nisbet together nice and early but the supply remained very poor.

It was great resilience though from Hibs to come back from the 2nd Saints goal and the manager is right to praise their character and while their keeper wasn't that busy there were also a fair number of chances created which on other days Murphy or Nissy would have taken.

Pleasing also how well our fullbacks played with McGinn a worthy man of the match and Mackie again solid and confident.

It seems common practice in football for managers to read games in advance and have plans in place for various scenarios as a game develops but you do have to wonder what our playbook says as tonight we didn't seem to give St Johnstone's midfield the respect they deserved.?

Cheers Mark , missed the game but sounds like more players are regressing than coming on tae a game, Mackie McGinn Murphy Nisbet and Gogic would be my only outfield players tae start if we had cover for the rest. Unfortunately we dinnae and the players I huvnae named ken it.

A grand report. I thought Hibs ladies capitano summed it up perfectly. "Sloppy".
Paul M. Brilliant, one poor pass all night.
Ryan. Has not improved that much since my last viewing. Unconvinced.
I'd pay money tae watch Murphy. A joy.
As a team , capable of better.

Ross got it wrong. Doidge on for Gogic? Also Murphy was moved to a more central role at the same time. So the player most likely to give Doidge decent service, was moved from the left wing, which left Mackie on his own.
Murphy, Nissie and Newell all should have made more of their chances.
I said after the sheep game that there was a lack of togetherness in the team, seen it in spades tonight.
Didn't see tonight. Thanks for the Just Back. Boyle sounds he was again the passenger he's been for weeks. Two points dropped and why we will finish behind Aberdeen and be looking over our shoulders at Dundee United. Results are not good enough.
The feeling seems to run through much of the support.
Ross has to go.

I don't think we are at that point. Or even close to it TBH. I think Jack Ross gets this season. I think losing a centre half in the summer and not replacing him was careless. And the midfield desperately needs reinforcement. We need signings to improve the team not additions to the squad.... I'd happily lose quite a few players.

When David Wotherspoon can out-muscle Darren McGregor to score you have a feeling an era is coming to an end

Ross has to go.

Sacking Ross when we are sitting 4th would be beyond madness.

Do you honestly think we'd replace him with a manager that would never get suckered by Celtic or lose to Aberdeen or draw with St Johnstone again?

This stuff is par for the course, and we can criticise each game individualy, but taking results collectively we are moving forwards. All during the most bizarre of seasons.

Ross has to go?! Absolutely bonkers chat.

Mallan and Newell typified the lacklustre overall performance. Both have attributes but they cannot play as the central midfield 2. Too soft and too passive, jogging about without drive or purpose.

We miss Scott Allan in there and we miss an in form Martin Boyle; he has just not been himself this season bar the first few games. His drop in form coincides with his new contract. He needs dropped to try and reignite some fire inside him, IMO.
Passive and lacking drive basically defines our midfield and has done since the McGinn/Dylan/Fyvie/Allan era. I’ve banged on about it often enough but it’s this passiveness and lack of midfield leadership which is hurting us massively. Gogic has been a great signing and does the dirty work, but he’s not going to grab a game by the scruff of the neck and drive us forward.

Maybe harsh on the players but our midfield screams acceptance of defeat when we go a goal down (I get saying that after pulling it back last night may be strange). Newell, Mallan, Hallberg none of these guys look fussed when we lose a goal, there’s a shrug, an acceptance rather than someone stepping up as a leader, someone picking up the ball and driving us forward, showing the rest of the team defeat isn’t acceptable.

Boyband has been banded about again recently, and whilst I’m not sure we’re back there, we’re too nice, too passive. If Newell and Mallan both left, I wouldn’t be overly fussed.

Do you honestly think we'd replace him with a manager that would never get suckered by Celtic or lose to Aberdeen or draw with St Johnstone again?

This stuff is par for the course, and we can criticise each game individualy, but taking results collectively we are moving forwards. All during the most bizarre of seasons.

Absolutely. We are fourth and have some good players. We draw to much and lack in a few areas but to suggest he has to go is plain daft.

Tell you what if I'm Hallberg and I'm not getting in this side I think I know what the management thinks of me....

Agree pretty much with all of that. Mackie did well defending but was caught out of position a lot when he tried and failed to get past a man. I'm not criticising him for trying and failing because I would rather he did than didn't and it didn't cost us but just making that point.

Now we have two capable left backs does this mean Stevenson is surplus to requirement?

Do we? Doig is young and raw. Mackie still a lot to prove.

So we wait for a string of dodgy results ....like last nights...., and when were lying 8th -9th in the league, then something gets done?

We have went from being solid at the back to now shipping too many goals, this was always the case with us previously that I thought finally we had corrected. The midfield needs addressing we are far too weak, you have both Mallan and Newell passing side to side or back the way, they lost the midfield battle, Mallan turning his back on his marker, not ruthless enough in the tackle either. Then Ross takes off the only player that gives us that steel in the midfield when it should have been Mallan off, Boyle has been pish for weeks now, he made one great run ghosting past two or three of them but that is nowhere near enough for 90mins, should have been hooked for Gullan earlier, seemingly he is pish in training to, so what does our players have to do to get dropped, Nesbitt was to isolated, the one up front pish doesn’t work around these players. We were bang on average last night, it wasn’t good enough and needs to improve ASAP as other teams are catching up. Felt sorry for Big Daz last night we know he isn’t the quickest but he got no support from the other two last night. Big mistake not bringing in a centre half as one injury and we look bang average at the back and start to panic too easily.

Boyle has been pish for weeks now, he made one great run ghosting past two or three of them but that is nowhere near enough for 90mins, should have been hooked for Gullan earlier, seemingly he is pish in training to, so what does our players have to do to get dropped

Wheres this pish in training coming from?

Error ridden, and uncreative. Takes a defender (not a regular score in his career I don't think) to stick the ball in the net.

Maybe not quite at turgid shite stage yet, but definitely tedium.

Pretty sure I saw a dozen or so cardboard cut-outs sneaking out with 20 still to go.

Do we? Doig is young and raw. Mackie still a lot to prove.

Agreed Doig is raw and Mackie is still proving himself but still have shown they are capable to play that role. We don't need 3 left backs and if it helps bring in another centre back I'm all for it.

So we wait for a string of dodgy results ....like last nights...., and when were lying 8th -9th in the league, then something gets done?

That's how it works, yeah, but unless you have a crystal ball you've no way of knowing the scenario you've painted will happen.

If we can be sitting where we are in the table while navigating a blip in the road I'm happy to be patient.

We have had a bit of a bumpy ride in the last month or so, but the fact the manager is tinkering with formations to address that instead of just sticking to his guns is a reason to be positive for me.

Do you really want to be like those Hearts fans that flew a plane over Tynecastle because they couldn't get over losing a derby they were favourites in? Or the Aberdeen fans that hate Derek McInnes for finishing in the top three season after season?

We are four points behind Celtic. Have a bit of perspective.

I think too many people think they are Mystic Meg because they've watched Sunderland til I Die.

Agreed Doig is raw and Mackie is still proving himself but still have shown they are capable to play that role. We don't need 3 left backs and if it helps bring in another centre back I'm all for it.
Lewis still has something to offer. Would be mental going with the two young lads. If we are looking to generate cash to invest punt Doidge & Boyle. And if we are looking to save on wages empty Hallberg, Mallan, McGregor and Sir David.... Gunts are out the league and we should be PROPERLY kicking on. Results have thankfully been better than performance's.

It won't come to that. However, us out the top 4 this season will not be accepted.

Lewis still has something to offer. Would be mental going with the two young lads. If we are looking to generate cash to invest punt Doidge & Boyle. And if we are looking to save on wages empty Hallberg, Mallan, McGregor and Sir David.... Gunts are out the league and we should be PROPERLY kicking on. Results have thankfully been better than performance's.

You'd be mental to sell Doidge and Boyle. I get what your saying by bringing in the cash but to replace them would be difficult.

Stevenson, Mallan, Hallberg could easily leave to free up space for guys that would contribute better. Would also get rid of McGregor and Gray but with McGregor only centre back we have as back up I doubt that will happen.

Passive and lacking drive basically defines our midfield and has done since the McGinn/Dylan/Fyvie/Allan era. I’ve banged on about it often enough but it’s this passiveness and lack of midfield leadership which is hurting us massively. Gogic has been a great signing and does the dirty work, but he’s not going to grab a game by the scruff of the neck and drive us forward.

Maybe harsh on the players but our midfield screams acceptance of defeat when we go a goal down (I get saying that after pulling it back last night may be strange). Newell, Mallan, Hallberg none of these guys look fussed when we lose a goal, there’s a shrug, an acceptance rather than someone stepping up as a leader, someone picking up the ball and driving us forward, showing the rest of the team defeat isn’t acceptable.

Boyband has been banded about again recently, and whilst I’m not sure we’re back there, we’re too nice, too passive. If Newell and Mallan both left, I wouldn’t be overly fussed.
We don't have the player you describe in our team never mind in midfield . Mo leader at all

Wheres this pish in training coming from?

From someone who will know.

Just plucked up the courage to look at this, was too disgusted after the game. We were rubbish defensively, apparently we see Doig as a future centre half, why not bring him on then? Replace a left sider for a left sider!! All through the game our players hid from the ball and I felt the manager was dying to get back to his dire 4-4-2! Doidge was posted missing as soon as he came on sadly. Hoping he’ll stick to the 4-2-3-1/4-3-3 but with Gullan replacing Boyler (he looks in desperate need of a rest) and Magennis or Halberg replacing Mallan. Don’t hold out much hope though.....

This thread has been viewed 6597 times.