Gay Man's Story of New York

Doc Shrink

Curmudgeon Radge
Yes, I'm afraid so.
The one Christmas record that doesn't make me cringe is now banned from the radio.
The BEEB have decided that the 'offensive lyrics' are obviously too much for many to bear, and so a moderated version will be played instead.

EDIT:

Panic over. Apparently this only applies to Radio 1.

So I really dinnae give a fcuk.

I quite like Must be Santa by Bob Dylan

Suitably radge in idea and execution

Yes, I'm afraid so.
The one Christmas record that doesn't make me cringe is now banned from the radio.
The BEEB have decided that the 'offensive lyrics' are obviously too much for many to bear, and so a moderated version will be played instead.

EDIT:

Panic over. Apparently this only applies to Radio 1.

So I really dinnae give a fcuk.

Aren't they just bleeping the word "faggot", like they do with about a hundred other words in other songs on the radio?

It seems pretty trivial in the grand scheme of things.

Aren't they just bleeping the word "faggot", like they do with about a hundred other words in other songs on the radio?

It seems pretty trivial in the grand scheme of things.

No idea mate.

I don't tend to play Radio One much.
At all.

Just thought it was a bit mental to change the words of a classic song 'in case it causes offence'.
I expect 'faggot' and 'slut' and 'fairy' are all binned.

Probably for the best.

Bbc the last bastion of decency , how long did they employ Jimmy Saville for again ??

Wonder if they're gonnae dae the same tae a' the " Gangsta in the 'hood" songs aboot stabbings, shootings and drugs and calling people "nigga"

Seen a thing about this on Facebook

But there playing a song by someone called Cardi B singing a song about her Vagina

Am 56 ive no idea who Cardi B is

But there playing a song by someone called Cardi B singing a song about her Vagina

My Cardi B on the back of my chair, am 54.

Thank christ you didnt get that line mixed up.

Wonder if they're gonnae dae the same tae a' the " Gangsta in the 'hood" songs aboot stabbings, shootings and drugs and calling people "nigga"
Do they broadcast the n word?

Kanye West uses it for one and I've heard it on rap songs. Disnae personally bother me what they sing about but once you start banning songs for having words that might offend somebody then it's got to be the same for all.

I’m 57 and cannie remember what a vagina is

Kanye West uses it for one and I've heard it on rap songs. Disnae personally bother me what they sing about but once you start banning songs for having words that might offend somebody then it's got to be the same for all.

Yeah but the point is censorship. Those songs get censored. Fairytale of New York isn't being banned, is it? ?‍♂️ I thought they were just cutting the word out.

There are far more offensive songs out there that don't use frowned upon words though that get airtime.
I seen the Cardi B post on Facebook too.
She's some harder Nicki Minaj type I think. Pretty sure they're groupies that got signed in exchange for the "favours" they provide.

I agree though, its nonsense.
Should educate folk on why we don't use certain words instead of tryna erase them from history.

Do they broadcast those on radio 1 with the words included?

I must admit I'm no' a great one for attending rap concerts so the only place I really could've heard it is the wireless, and I doubt very much if I'd been listening to radio one so I couldnae say if it's been played on there or no'

Was there a reason why you were wondering if they were "gonnae dae the same" without knowing whether they already did the same?

Fanny.

Was there a reason why you were wondering if they were "gonnae dae the same" without knowing whether they already did the same?
Aye

Bbc the last bastion of decency , how long did they employ Jimmy Saville for again ??
About the same time they employed that other peodo John Peel.

Cardi B is when your other one is in the wash.

Looking forward to hearing Driving Home for Christmas.

WARNING TO YOUNG PEOPLE DO NOT WATCH.....This has content about people shagging

This thread is all well and dandy but a mere ripple in the ocean of banned records by the BBC, the list of which is staggering, ludicrous, yet funny when you see it in full.

For me this reached the height of absurdity when both the banned Je t'aime,....mois non plus by Jane Birkin and Serge Gainsbourg and Wet Dream by Max Romeo got into the charts in 1968. For the young team on here that werenae Pop Picking in '68 as Fluff would say. Both on Pick of the Pops on radio and Top of the Pops on TV each week and that ran into several weeks as Je t'aime got to No 1 and Wet Dream to No 10 despite the total airtime ban, on chart countdown an image would appear, but zero words said about the artist or the title of the song.....and at number one....silence. Couldnae make it up.

Je t'aime was banned in several counties including the USA, quelle surprise, as Jane may have said. However it got to No1 in the UK, Germany, the Netherlands, Austria, Switzerland and more.

It was denounced by the Vatican, who must have got a Latin translation. One would have in hindsight thought that they had more to be concerned about than two consenting adults having sex.
Their young flock in the Republic of Ireland were having none of it. It got to No. 2 in the Irish charts. The times they were a changing.

WARNING TO YOUNG PEOPLE DO NOT WATCH.....This has content about people shagging

This thread is all well and dandy but a mere ripple in the ocean of banned records by the BBC, the list of which is staggering, ludicrous, yet funny when you see it in full.

For me this reached the height of absurdity when both the banned Je t'aime,....mois non plus by Jane Birkin and Serge Gainsbourg and Wet Dream by Max Romeo got into the charts in 1968. For the young team on here that werenae Pop Picking in '68 as Fluff would say. Both on Pick of the Pops on radio and Top of the Pops on TV each week and that ran into several weeks as Je t'aime got to No 1 and Wet Dream to No 10 despite the total airtime ban, on chart countdown an image would appear, but zero words said about the artist or the title of the song.....and at number one....silence. Couldnae make it up.

Je t'aime was banned in several counties including the USA, quelle surprise, as Jane may have said. However it got to No1 in the UK, Germany, the Netherlands, Austria, Switzerland and more.

It was denounced by the Vatican, who must have got a Latin translation. One would have in hindsight thought that they had more to be concerned about than two consenting adults having sex.
Their young flock in the Republic of Ireland were having none of it. It got to No. 2 in the Irish charts. The times they were a changing.

Splendid organ on this. Titter ye not listen.

Can't remember that Max Romeo number at all, maybe because I wasn't a big fan of reggae (other than Bob Marley and maybe Jimmy Cliff) although I remember Jane Birkin.... :P
Wondered why that creepy Peter Cooke lookalike got to coorie in with her.... turned out he wrote the 'song'.

Catchy tune though eh?

Yes they do edit these songs. And the especially omit the F word which was pretty much ubiquitous in 90s “gangsta n the hood” songs.

Nice use of the N word though.

I remember Jane Birkin.... :P
Wondered why that creepy Peter Cooke lookalike got to coorie in with her.... turned out he wrote the 'song'.

Probably because of Serge's blisteringly cool chat up lines with women I should imagine.......

Yes they do edit these songs. And the especially omit the F word which was pretty much ubiquitous in 90s “gangsta n the hood” songs.

Nice use of the N word though.
The N word, however its spelt, is an offensive word that I wouldnt use. My point is , if its offensive then it shouldnt be used by anybody.

Looks like they never plugged in the mic Yoko was using.
Good plan.

The N word, however its spelt, is an offensive word that I wouldnt use. My point is , if its offensive then it shouldnt be used by anybody.
You wouldn’t use it, but you did.

if you don’t understand why it’s ok for a group to use the word used to put them down then I can’t help you.

im just wondering why folk automatically attach sexuality to the word faggot. Same can be said for gay. But when a non black guy uses the N word, there is no ambiguity. That word has only one meaning.

if you don’t understand why it’s ok for a group to use the word used to put them down then I can’t help you.

im just wondering why folk automatically attach sexuality to the word faggot. Same can be said for gay. But when a non black guy uses the N word, there is no ambiguity. That word has only one meaning.
I used it as an example, which I suspect you know. I agree entirely with you 3rd para

Looks like they never plugged in the mic Yoko was using.
Good plan.
Whats yellow and lives off dead Beatles?

Oh no.

Hope it’s not a racist punchline.

Olivers army is being censored too due to the use of the N word

im just wondering why folk automatically attach sexuality to the word faggot. Same can be said for gay. But when a non black guy uses the N word, there is no ambiguity. That word has only one meaning

I have heard the connotation for faggot with gays stems back to the middle ages. People suspected of having homosexual relations with others were regularly burnt at the stake. The wood would be set alit using faggots or small bundles of twigs bound together.

Almost word for word what I just said to someone

I have heard the connotation for faggot with gays stems back to the middle ages. People suspected of having homosexual relations with others were regularly burnt at the stake. The wood would be set alit using faggots or small bundles of twigs bound together.
From what I can see the term faggot for homosexuals wasnt used until the 1920's, a few hundred years after they stopped burning people at the stake , so I think any connection between the two is unlikely. Could be wrong of course.

Always thought faggot and fag were American expressions we imported.

This thread has been viewed 7371 times.