Best place to eat out?

Clearly the bounce diaspora is large and wide, and we eat in places from Leith to Lombok to LA. Where is your favourite place for a nice scran, whether it be a cafe, bar, restaurant, hotel, whatever and what do you order?

In Edinburgh, I love Cafe Andaluz, particularly the one on George IV Bridge, good scran, reasonable deals (try the pre theatre meal deal) and easy to walk to/ from from Waverley. I tend to go for Chiperones and alioli (deep fried baby squid), ye cannae get them anywhere else in Scotland that I have found and although I am a red wine drinker, I prefer pints of San Miguel when in Cafe Andaluz. Best Spanish tapas I have eaten outside of Andalucia.

You?

I saw you were there earlier! I like it too.

Our place to eat is the Guru although the last time wasn't as great as usual, that was a few weeks ago so hopefully just getting used to being open again.

Just been to Victoria. It was a bit disappointing.

I was really surprised by the Golden Mabal??? at the end of Albert Street. Past it hunners of times but we went in last week for the first time and we enjoyed it.

Went to the Walnut in Leith Walk last night. Beautiful food, £20 for two courses, £25 for three.... and you can bring your own wine, even though it's fully licensed. Recommended to me by my foodie nephew.

I walked past it yesterday, reminded me of Pierre Victoires menu, but it seeemed awfy mobbed for Covid times?

There were three covers of two (including the wife and me) and one of four during the course of our visit. Well spaced out, felt perfectly safe.

I like Cafe Anduluz too.
I meet up with 3 lifelong pals there quarterly... just hoping we will all make it next time.

There were 3 covers?I’m no’ takin’ ma duvet along I just want to eat.

I like Cafe Anduluz too.
I meet up with 3 lifelong pals there quarterly... just hoping we will all make it next time.
A commonly-held fear in my own circle of mates. This virus is a bassa.

Longniddry Inn is a favourite of Mrs Sockyboy and me. Has the knack of being consistently good. Fairly standard pub grub but never disappoints. Just a 20 train trip from the capital too.

The sun inn. Even though I’m through west now, I had my birthday bash there last month.

I saw you were there earlier! I like it too.

Our place to eat is the Guru although the last time wasn't as great as usual, that was a few weeks ago so hopefully just getting used to being open again.

Just been to Victoria. It was a bit disappointing.

I was really surprised by the Golden Mabal??? at the end of Albert Street. Past it hunners of times but we went in last week for the first time and we enjoyed it.
The indian?
the Golden Amble?
its brilliant, mrs is not a big Indian fan,but loves it there. Can never remember what i get, usually differs, but they have a starter of some kind of chilli/curried fish... it is mouthwateringly amazing

The sun inn. Even though I’m through west now, I had my birthday bash there last month.

Loved their early bird menu before lockdown. Amazing value.

Always enjoyed Butternut Squash in porty, its small but always been good grub.

Think they sold the place to the barmaid and she's kept all the kitchen staff so should still be good.

Karma in Whitburn best Indian ive ever had and a few pints in the Bowling club across the road

Is Cafe Sheebab still open?thats where I fell in love with curry

I believe Cafe Sheebab is now The Karma

Chaopraya is me and the Mrs favorite. Not been since her birthday in December though. Food and drinks are superb. Thay sharing starter platter and then the weeping tiger is my favorite.

Always enjoy a visit to Chop House

• Love
El Cartel is a favourite, love all things Mexican and this is the best one by a mile.

Depending what I’m in the mood for I’d add Shezan for an Indian, Chop House for a steak, Taste of Italy for a quick Italian bite, the bar snacks at the Mash Tun for a pre-match scran (ah how I miss the fitbaw).

North Esk reservoir on Wednesday, sun shining, flask of knor minestrone and two corn beef rolls. 7 hours of walking, never seen a soul. Heaven. Eating out seems a thing of the past, love Nepalese food. A few good ones in Edinburgh.

They might be Jambos but I went to Jashans in Moat Place a couple of years ago for my birthday and the food was great.

When I lived in Bathgate me and the missus used to go to Heritage Indian a fair amount - used to like Six by Nico in Edinburgh as well. Over here, Longhorn Steakhouse is GREAT!

Don't eat out a lot but my go to place is mckirdys steak house in Morriston st.
Luckily got to jump about with the Scottish Cup a couple years back so I'm a bit biased but great place to eat and great steaks.

Atlanta - my wee local hole in the wall mexican. cheep an cheerful. quality tacos and i always have a texas margarita while i wait. 5 mins fi the hoose. barry.

Edinburgh - love Dishoom - took her indoors there last year when w were over - she said it was best indian food she had ever had. it was barry.

Edinburgh take away - the Shapla on easter road is the business. top notch, every time.

Back home I love a pizza from Favorite. Las Vegas has got to be a streak from Cut. Chicago a wing joint called Gator's, great boneless wings. Michigan a dive called Yesterdog. Best chilli dogs on the planet.

Where do you live mate?!

Chicago right now, but moving to Michigan soon. How about you?

Went tae Ikea last week and decided tae go early for brekkie. Cafe was shut so we went tae Elginhaugh out beside Dobbies. Under a tenner, 2 superb breakfasts, book first though, saves havin tae fuck about and download app at entry.

Just downloaded the app.. cheers mate

Wee tip Stu, get the small breakfast, plenty on it.

Its shut for 2 weeks mate, but you can click n collect take away meals ?

Forgot aboot that. Yi wid think they would stay open and no sell alcohol as it’s mainly a scran place. They dae that on a Sunday morning anyway. Daft IMO .

Forresters (Porty)
Bonoful (Porty)
Fazenda
Tattu
Cool Jade
The Steading
Browns
Gaucho

Forresters (Porty)
Bonoful (Porty)
Fazenda
Tattu
Cool Jade
The Steading
Browns
Gaucho
Think Bonoful is overpriced and over rated personally. Both Mint and Station India are better imo.
Forresters, can be hit and miss I find. Sometimes is alright, other times its not that good.
Very keen to try Fazenda, heard nothing but good reports.

Think Bonoful is overpriced and over rated personally.

Agreed. You tried Gautam's in Meadowbank? Awesome.

Think Bonoful is overpriced and over rated personally. Both Mint and Station India are better imo.
Forresters, can be hit and miss I find. Sometimes is alright, other times its not that good.
Very keen to try Fazenda, heard nothing but good reports.
Mrs Jackie, her mum and sister go out each Saturday (used to) and Forresters was a regular haunt. She's said the same and isn't going back for a while. Her gripe is the inconsistent size and quality of the fish. Its a shame, we took Ozzie friends there last summer and they said it was the best they had ever tasted, having just come from Whitby where they were told the fish and chips was the best you could get.

Will check that out

I love it!

Been to Gautams numerous times. Excellent food. A lot of dishes you don't normally come across and great friendly staff. Chicken Takatak is soooooo nice.

Aye mate, used it a couple of times, very tasty. Well priced too.

This thread has been viewed 5070 times.