Just back and that was very, very decent

Well played Hibernian, I thoroughly enjoyed that, some lovely football, some excellent performances, three away goals and a clean sheet. Big G will be a few bob up too! Thanks Hibs.

I started the efty in a panic, my login to St Mirren TV wisnae working, and when I got it working the sound quality was poor and it hung ten minutes in to the game, not really acceptable when you are paying for it. Not to worry, Hibs made my day with a three nil thumping of the Saints. Some very good perfromaces, the back five continue to shine, Alex Gogic is a rock, Joe Newell had a fine game and its great to have Nisbett back, he is a player. The fat cheating goalie from Gorgie had a stinker which is nice and whilst St Mirren play neat and tidy football the heartbreaker Obika struggles up front on his own. I reckon most strikers will struggle the way Rocky, the two Paul's, Ryan and Josh are playing. Wee observation, wasn't it weird hearing airplane noise in the background, no heard that much since March, oh aye and we didn't miss Scottie Allan either?

Jack has the team playing like a well oiled machine, smooth, clever, accurate and hard as nails. What a difference two weeks make eh?

So to the team....old fashioned 4 4 2, but I like it.

Rocky had three good saves and has beeen first class this season.

Paul McGinn has been smashing since he signed for Hibs, he rarely puts a foot wrong and his ball for the opening goal was excellent. I barely give the fact Sir David Gray, captain and winning goal scorer in the 2016 Scottish Cup Final a second thought. I never thought I would ever type those words.

Ryan Porteous was fantastic today, he ie really maturing into a fine defender. I hope he is ok after taking a knocklast kick of the ball?

Paul Hanlon is like a new signing, the work he has put in over the pandemic period has rejuvenated him, he played very well today.

Josh Doig plays like has has been our starting left back for 10 years. As I said about Paul McGinn, who woul dahve tough we would not miss the magnificent Lewis 'got 2' Stevenson?

Alex Gogic is great to watch, hard, strong, clever and never stops. Great signing.

Joe Newell had his best game in a Hibs jersey today, scored a fine goal, set up another with a wonderful pass and generally done everything right all day.

Boyler looked a bit more like his old self, freat work to set up Joe's goal and a fine 'sheeder' past the jambo fud to ge this goal. He certainly enjoyed it!

Jamie Murphy drifted in and out of tehgame, but will get better with game time.

Doidgey had lots of knock ons and touches and I think one half chance. He enjoys playing a pair up front.

I love watching young kevin Nisbet, he is a player. He reminds me a bit of Keith Wright. He took his chance, scored his goal and his all round play was first class.

The Subs

First on was Jamie Gullan with 15 to go replacing Nisbet, which I felt was the right move. It wasn't enough time to make a big impression but I have great hope for Jamie, he looks decent.

Next was Wright for Murphy with 10 to go, I barely noticed Wright on the field.

A double change with five to go saw Mallan on for Newell and a debut for you Hibby Ryan Shanley who set up Diodge for a half chance and got stuck in. Nice to see the youngsters breaking through with Josh and Ryan established now and Jamie and Ryan pushing their way in to the squad and team.

The boss, I felt he got it wrong against the sheep shaggers, he certainly got it right today. The shape of the team was too strong for St Mirren and it was good on the eye, which is something most Hibs fans prefer to see. Nice.

St Mirren were not at the races and I enjoyed seeing the jambo cheat lose three goals. I do think the Saints will stay up, they are a good team, lacking support for their striker, the jambo boil lancer Obika. They should have had a penalty, which Gollum missed completely.

The referee was fine, didnae interfere but missed the Saints penalty as I said, but it was to Hibs advantage so he is forgiven. ;))

Man of the Match, well the whole team played well, which is great, for me those that stoof out were Rocky, who is a having a good season, Paul Hanlon and Ryan Porteous, solid, Alex Gogic and Kevin Nisbet. My man of the match however goes to Joe Newell who played very well, set the third goal up and scored a fine one himself, and was involved in much of our forward passing.

Next up is the dirty Huns next Sunday lunchtime, they are flying, we are flying. I hope we shoot them out of the sky and every shite they have is a hedgehog.

Well played Hibs!

thanks 1875 for the just back, agree with your MOM, Joe Newell didnt put a foot wrong today . A very good performance from the whole team :50:

Huns lost 3 players the day to injury Moanelos Barker and Jack, think if we play to potential we can beat them.

I only saw from the last 5 minutes of the first half but it was the most enjoyable football i've seen this season.

Hibs had a solid shape today, the players looked very comfortable most part. Joe Newell is a good footballer and edged man of the match. Hibs are progressing very nicely without getting carried away. Gogic is a great addition. The first goal is a proper strikers goal, being there and getting something on it. Real test next week against a well drilled Hun team.

Huns lost 3 players the day to injury Moanelos Barker and Jack, think if we play to potential we can beat them.

We'll need to be firing on all cylinders. They're pretty good just now, still not conceded a single goal?

Their defensive record is outstanding, but so is ours... We’ve still no conceded from open yet.

Fair point, delighted with where we're at, but we will need to be tuned in to beat Hunco. Could well be the challenge we need to really show what we've got.

Had open all mics on while I was watching ours today, celtic, despite their scoreline gave away loads of chances, they're definitely there for the taking If we go looking for it.

We let there midfeild dictate we will lose but I think we're due a good game against one of the bigger sides, heres hoping.

82116E74-7B61-4B12-8417-F39B34CA09E7.jpeg

We are a better team without Scott Allan in it at the moment. Good comfortable away win and good we are racking up some clean sheets early on. Tough couple weeks coming up now but hopefully come out with points from both games but to do that we need to keep with the 2 upfront against both of them.

Didn’t see the game today so I appreciate the reports and feedback, seems a fair few liked their midfield player Erahon and reckon he could be the player we are missing in our midfield, plenty of energy, good passer of the ball and not scared to get stuck in, anyone see similar to this who seen the game?

None of their players where better than what we had on the park today.

Fair enough, just mentioned what others said ?

We played well today, still room for improvement but i thought the team looked more comfortable in their positions. St Mirren can moan about keepers, but the 3rd goal was about the only 1 that jambo fud had a chance with, i don't think many other keepers would have come out any better today.

Good report and fine result. We deserved the win for sure but disagree that St Mirren werent at the races. If the referee had spotted Porteous stupid double punch and Boylers Hand of God effort we'd have been looking at 2-1. We got lucky there twice. Rocky made some great saves too, one from point blank. Main thing is 3 points in the bag but wont get carried away, unless we win the next 2 games. Table looks good tonight. Well done. Bring on the hun.

Newell played brilliant today, possibly his best performance in a hibs shirt.

Another very good away win. Four in a row now.

That's seven games played. Won 5, drawn 1 and lost one (to a penalty). Only three goals conceded so far...a 30 yard raker of a free-kick and two penalties. That's a very good start to the season in anyone's books.

Saw the goals on Sportscene, all well taken. Hope Ryan Porteous is alright.

Toughest game of the season next Sunday against a very good huns team. To be honest, we will need to produce a much better performance than we have done so far this season at Easter Road.

Think I’ll head to keechback to read some seeth.

Another great result, good battling performance, clean sheet. The Buddies certainly fought back. Still more to come, would love to bring Huns down to earth. Balance seemed better with 2 up front. Still room for Scottie Alan, think he needs to be sat 'in the hole'.

I'm actually watching the 2nd replay of the Heuchter Tuechter coverage, so things must be looking up, after watching breathtaking 4-3 Leeds v Liverpool(sorry admin if off thread!). It's just great to see the Hibees get a grip of the game and come out on top! I dunno what the Jambo keeper wis laughin at after the final whistle!

Cheers Mark, really appreciated.
Not seen any of it yet, but sounds like a proper team performance. Newell appears to be a bit of an enigma. He's either on it or a man off:9:,
Mcginn does seem an excellent signing, solid any time I have seen him.
Bring on that new team. Gonna stick a fiver on 3-2.

Great result..saw the whole first half and highlights of second. Noticed McGinn had another very effective performance. Hes been superb this season so far. Defence in general has improved beyond recognition.

Tricky next week although Rangers will come at us which might actually suit us more as few have at ER.

In the meantime just enjoying our start to the season. I still think we can improve in a few areas, and the squad will no doubt be upgraded again before long so reasons for optimism.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

Decent performance, agree with most of your thoughts on the game - obviously the ref was useless though, imagine if we were denied a pen like that or were given a goal against us like the last one!

I feel that I am stating the obvious but ... we play better as a team without Scott A.

I don't think that this is a new thing. During all of his spells with us when he is on the pitch everything goes through him and I don't know if this makes others switch off a bit, not try as hard, leave it for him to do or what. The result of this being if he has a cracking game or pulls of a few great passes we often win, but if he gets bogged down in the match then the team does too. I think he is a good player, one of our best, but perhaps the team plays with more freedom when he doesnt? Dunno.

But great result, bring on the huns...

Agree it was definitely Joe Newell’s best game for us, he was spraying passes about and making things happen. Remember a delightful through ball to Doig that unfortunately came to nothing.

Be interesting to see how he does next week against a side that’ll put him under far more pressure as I’m still far from convinced.

Just realised we’ve surpassed Hearts total number of league wins from last season and we’re still only in September! ?

Good report and fine result. We deserved the win for sure but disagree that St Mirren werent at the races. If the referee had spotted Porteous stupid double punch and Boylers Hand of God effort we'd have been looking at 2-1. We got lucky there twice. Rocky made some great saves too, one from point blank. Main thing is 3 points in the bag but wont get carried away, unless we win the next 2 games. Table looks good tonight. Well done. Bring on the hun.
Agreed Porto looked like a pen in real time,stonewall in slow mo we definitely got away with that. Didn’t quite see Boyler one thought it went in off his shoulder.
We played well Joe Newell was involved in almost everything. St Mirren would have been a different proposition if they had a decent striker.
Great performance Hibs but the dreaded hun will test our metal. Keep it tight and keep 2up front. ??

Still room for Scottie Alan, think he needs to be sat 'in the hole'.

?????

There isn’t a hole. We need two industrious central midfielders if playing 2 up front with Boyle and Murphy.

Part of our problem before is sacrificing our best system/s to find a way to accommodate Scott Allan.

Assuming he stays, there will be times and systems when he’s needed but not at present. How effective he will be if not getting games each week is something for our coaching staff to worry about.

It’s a massive exaggeration but remember when Kinkladze - their best player by a long way - was dropped by Joe Royle at Man City who were in a relegation fight. His ability was frightening but a luxury they couldn’t afford at that time. I said exaggerating mind but you get the drift.

Well played Hibernian, I thoroughly enjoyed that, some lovely football, some excellent performances, three away goals and a clean sheet. Big G will be a few bob up too! Thanks Hibs.

I started the efty in a panic, my login to St Mirren TV wisnae working, and when I got it working the sound quality was poor and it hung ten minutes in to the game, not really acceptable when you are paying for it. Not to worry, Hibs made my day with a three nil thumping of the Saints. Some very good perfromaces, the back five continue to shine, Alex Gogic is a rock, Joe Newell had a fine game and its great to have Nisbett back, he is a player. The fat cheating goalie from Gorgie had a stinker which is nice and whilst St Mirren play neat and tidy football the heartbreaker Obika struggles up front on his own. I reckon most strikers will struggle the way Rocky, the two Paul's, Ryan and Josh are playing. Wee observation, wasn't it weird hearing airplane noise in the background, no heard that much since March, oh aye and we didn't miss Scottie Allan either?

Jack has the team playing like a well oiled machine, smooth, clever, accurate and hard as nails. What a difference two weeks make eh?

So to the team....old fashioned 4 4 2, but I like it.

Rocky had three good saves and has beeen first class this season.

Paul McGinn has been smashing since he signed for Hibs, he rarely puts a foot wrong and his ball for the opening goal was excellent. I barely give the fact Sir David Gray, captain and winning goal scorer in the 2016 Scottish Cup Final a second thought. I never thought I would ever type those words.

Ryan Porteous was fantastic today, he ie really maturing into a fine defender. I hope he is ok after taking a knocklast kick of the ball?

Paul Hanlon is like a new signing, the work he has put in over the pandemic period has rejuvenated him, he played very well today.

Josh Doig plays like has has been our starting left back for 10 years. As I said about Paul McGinn, who woul dahve tough we would not miss the magnificent Lewis 'got 2' Stevenson?

Alex Gogic is great to watch, hard, strong, clever and never stops. Great signing.

Joe Newell had his best game in a Hibs jersey today, scored a fine goal, set up another with a wonderful pass and generally done everything right all day.

Boyler looked a bit more like his old self, freat work to set up Joe's goal and a fine 'sheeder' past the jambo fud to ge this goal. He certainly enjoyed it!

Jamie Murphy drifted in and out of tehgame, but will get better with game time.

Doidgey had lots of knock ons and touches and I think one half chance. He enjoys playing a pair up front.

I love watching young kevin Nisbet, he is a player. He reminds me a bit of Keith Wright. He took his chance, scored his goal and his all round play was first class.

The Subs

First on was Jamie Gullan with 15 to go replacing Nisbet, which I felt was the right move. It wasn't enough time to make a big impression but I have great hope for Jamie, he looks decent.

Next was Wright for Murphy with 10 to go, I barely noticed Wright on the field.

A double change with five to go saw Mallan on for Newell and a debut for you Hibby Ryan Shanley who set up Diodge for a half chance and got stuck in. Nice to see the youngsters breaking through with Josh and Ryan established now and Jamie and Ryan pushing their way in to the squad and team.

The boss, I felt he got it wrong against the sheep shaggers, he certainly got it right today. The shape of the team was too strong for St Mirren and it was good on the eye, which is something most Hibs fans prefer to see. Nice.

St Mirren were not at the races and I enjoyed seeing the jambo cheat lose three goals. I do think the Saints will stay up, they are a good team, lacking support for their striker, the jambo boil lancer Obika. They should have had a penalty, which Gollum missed completely.

The referee was fine, didnae interfere but missed the Saints penalty as I said, but it was to Hibs advantage so he is forgiven. ;))

Man of the Match, well the whole team played well, which is great, for me those that stoof out were Rocky, who is a having a good season, Paul Hanlon and Ryan Porteous, solid, Alex Gogic and Kevin Nisbet. My man of the match however goes to Joe Newell who played very well, set the third goal up and scored a fine one himself, and was involved in much of our forward passing.

Next up is the dirty Huns next Sunday lunchtime, they are flying, we are flying. I hope we shoot them out of the sky and every shite they have is a hedgehog.

Well played Hibs!

I'm pleased to see Newell given your MOM award for the game. He was terrific, never panicked, scored a lovely goal. What's not to like.

Cheers Mark, really appreciated.
Not seen any of it yet, but sounds like a proper team performance. Newell appears to be a bit of an enigma. He's either on it or a man off:9:,
Mcginn does seem an excellent signing, solid any time I have seen him.
Bring on that new team. Gonna stick a fiver on 3-2.
Am no sure the ref will gi them 2 pens at an empty Ibroke, best go for 0-3.

Home win @ ER

Wis just aboot tae delete, made a *&*^ of masel?

I didn't see the game but having read this just back, thank you, I am really pleased that all departments seem to have very strong pass marks.
I have mentioned this before and, whilst we won well, I am still concerned that we seem to be statistically outplayed in each game - and I know stats aren't everything. But, in number of passes, pass completion and possession we are always behind the opposition.
That is fine against lesser opposition, but against better teams we need to improve that.
We have to take control of the games, we have some really talented ball players, but these stats suggest that they need to do more. I wonder whether it's a tactical issue.

Sent from my G8441 using Tapatalk

Wis just aboot tae delete, made a *&*^ of masel?
Oh dear. How sad. Never mind.
Lol.

Oh dear. How sad. Never mind.
Lol.
Got a right red face... it ain’t half ?

I didn't see the game but having read this just back, thank you, I am really pleased that all departments seem to have very strong pass marks.
I have mentioned this before and, whilst we won well, I am still concerned that we seem to be statistically outplayed in each game - and I know stats aren't everything. But, in number of passes, pass completion and possession we are always behind the opposition.
That is fine against lesser opposition, but against better teams we need to improve that.
We have to take control of the games, we have some really talented ball players, but these stats suggest that they need to do more. I wonder whether it's a tactical issue.

Really depends where that posession is and where we're winning the ball back.
We have a quick team thats showing we aren't easy to break down, let alone create chances. If they do create chances, we have a keeper who's shown what he is, every time he's been asked to.

Counter attacking football makes sense i think. Though I'd disagree about it being fine against lesser opposition. I'd rather it was the other way about.

Really depends where that posession is and where we're winning the ball back.
We have a quick team thats showing we aren't easy to break down, let alone create chances. If they do create chances, we have a keeper who's shown what he is, every time he's been asked to.

Counter attacking football makes sense i think. Though I'd disagree about it being fine against lesser opposition. I'd rather it was the other way about.

I agree, and that's why i am slightly cautious about this as being an indicator. I know there are times that it makes sense to allow the opposition to keep the ball so you can draw them on. But my concern is in the fact that we are consistently completing less passes than the opposition and consistently have less possession - although for all that we've done alright for now.

There is also a stat i think i would like to see and that is, for all the above do we make what possession we have tell also where are we less effective passers, is it all over the par or a specific area?

Contenting ourselves with less possession and fewer completed passes is a bit of a game of Russian roulette and allows the other team to take the initiative and incomplete passes mean a better chance of them getting the ball back.

Does it mean that we are not very good at passing (relatively speaking) or are opposition teams good at intercepting the ball from us, or do off the ball players not support the ball carrier by getting into the right positions? Whatever it is, the better the opposition the more it will cost. I have a feeling that much of it may be linked to work rate, the harder you work the luckier you get.

By fine, i really mean we can get away with it more easily against lesser opposition.

Does it mean that we are not very good at passing (relatively speaking) or are opposition teams good at intercepting the ball from us, or do off the ball players not support the ball carrier by getting into the right positions? Whatever it is, the better the opposition the more it will cost. I have a feeling that much of it may be linked to work rate, the harder you work the luckier you get.

By fine, i really mean we can get away with it more easily against lesser opposition.

I disagree, instead of not being good passers, its that we play less passes per passage of play and get the ball forward quickly. Our passing %'s are actually pretty good when its played on deck.

We don't actually need to have a lot of the ball as long as the opponents aren't in danger areas, their half preferably. And when they do cross into our half thats when we should be giving them no room and get to goal quick as we can.

I'm okay with it, but in games where we're ahead, I'd like to see us move the ball about more to stretch teams, our wide players are to be exploited.

I disagree, instead of not being good passers, its that we play less passes per passage of play and get the ball forward quickly. Our passing %'s are actually pretty good when its played on deck.

We don't actually need to have a lot of the ball as long as the opponents aren't in danger areas, their half preferably. And when they do cross into our half thats when we should be giving them no room and get to goal quick as we can.

I'm okay with it, but in games where we're ahead, I'd like to see us move the ball about more to stretch teams, our wide players are to be exploited.
The problem with stats is they generalise things and as I said it would be nice to see where possession and passing accuracy are good and not so good. But perhaps your point about playing it on the deck is the issue, if we can't pass accurately in the air then we need to improve that or not do it.
That all said, I like football to be about flair and that is not a 100% thing, I get bored with some of the super efficient English games a bit of uncertainty makes for excitement.
Anyway good result and the big test next week.

The way we're set up - 2 central midfielders, 2 strikers + two wide players who tend to run with the ball before releasing it - means less passing, especially through the middle. Some fans like this, some don't. I'm not a big fan. Play that setup against stronger teams with better organised midfields, like the Weegies, Sheep, even Motherwell, and we're easily contained and we struggle to play football the way its supposed to be played.

I said on here we'd get found out by Aberdeen and we were. St Mirren didnt have the personnel to dominate us in the centre of the park so we had space to play attacking football that brought goals. I wouldnt read to much into that win, good as it was. We wont have that space in the next 2 games.

The Hun wont play with 2 strikers, they'll setup to overwhelm out midfield, use Kent and Hagi to open us up inside the channels and out wide. Slippy will have studied our form/setup and he'll know how to contain us if we go 2 central, 2 wide and 2 strikers. The boss aint stupid either. He'll know there's a midfield battle ahead and if he's honest with himself he'll know that Gogic and Newell aren't capable of controlling a match against the hun or sellic.

Still rankles we didnt throw everything on the table to get McCrorie. He'd have been the missing link in the team. Predict he'll be a £2m+ player by the end of the season. Maybe more. We need to gamble a bit more, specualte to accumulate. We still need a player like him if we're to compete in top 3.

Im sure we completed more passes than the sheep, but can't find the stats now ?

This thread has been viewed 3846 times.