Best gigs

Yes all on the same night. No seats, just people dancing to Ska revival. Quality.

The vunue that you mention was called The Moon. I saw some punk bands there 1980ish.

It had previously been the Regent pictures. Bizarrely some 15 years prior to watching punks there, I saw Jason and the Argonauts in 1964.

I remember it when it was The Cats Pyjamas.

I went with my sister to the Sunday Oasis Loch Lomond gig. It was mental. Roasting hot day. I remember going in and the Bootleg Beatles were just finishing their set..(seen them several times since, always great), Cast and Black Grape were excellent as were Ocean Colour Scene. I'd seen Oasis a couple of time before that gig, but the build-up to them coming on at Loch Lomond was unreal. They were tremendous as usual. They were absolutely huge at that time...I think they played Knebworth a few days later.

Yeah it was the Sunday I went too, a total scorcher ☀️ Think the Manics played the Saturday which would’ve been good to see. I remember it being complete bedlam just prior to them taking the stage - pints, bottles etc flying about to such extent that someone had to come on and tell the crowd to calm down!

Like everybody else, tough to name 3. In no particular order;

The Cure, Barrowlands, 1992. It was a warm up gig for a bigger tour. Fat Bob & Co were playing bigger venues by then (they played Edin Playhouse a few weeks later, last gig in Scotland for 27 years) and they basically played a couple tracks of their new material, then went through all their classic tunes. Very lucky to get a ticket, I think everyone there knew this was something we would not witness again.

The Godfathers, The Venue 1987 (I think). Pay at the door and it felt like that there were far to many people in, it was ridiculously rammed. One of two times I have ever stormed the stage, they finished with Anarchy in the UK. Bedlam, with bodies everywhere, not the only time, I'm glad that I'm over 6 foot at a gig.

Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds, Hydro 2018. I've seen Nick a few times and I was concerned that a big venue like the Hydro would not work for him. He was brilliant, had the whole place in the palm of his hand for 2.5 hours, simply sublime. It was my son's 21st that night and his 1st time watching Nick do his stuff, he was gobsmacked how good he was.

The Clash- Playhouse
The Smiths-Playhouse
Plnk Floyd-Earls Court

The Clash- Playhouse
The Smiths-Playhouse
Plnk Floyd-Earls Court

Was at Floyd gig at Earls Court ( tripping ) and Oasis at Loch Lomond which has been mentioned, will have a think about a top 3 been lucky to attend some crackers over the years

The Clash- Playhouse
The Smiths-Playhouse
Plnk Floyd-Earls Court
I saw The Smiths at the playhouse, James were the support band. The Smiths were excellent, James less so.

I was at that 1973 Ellington gig. The giant was dead less than 6 months later. I spashed out for front row seats for me and girlfriend, who I married the next year. Music immense and the sound from his jazz orchestra, could be heard at the Fit o the Walk, I am sure. Mesmerised, digging every second of this, at some point I turned and unbelievably, she was fast asleep. Says it all.

Got Mercer Ellington's autograph on the very classy programme.But where the programme is,Gawd knows,somewhere in my mum's in one of her many boxes.

I've still got loads of my old concert tickets and what I miss most is that the Regular Music promoters tickets were always pretty neat,as they had coloured paper with the bands name and sometimes logo written with varied lettering. Much nicer than the print out receipt looking ticketmaster pish.

Choosing three is almost impossible for most of us I guess, so for dessert.....

The Who : Isle of Wight Festival 1970.

The Jimi Hendrix Experience : Isle of Wight Festival 1970.

The Doors : Isle of Wight Festival 1970.

As an aside, the recent controversy about the singing/non singing of Land of Hope and Glory at the Proms in the past few weeks reminded me of this at the Festival. Dinnae take offence my Nationalist amigos, 600,000 very stoned folk accompaniment, it was bizarre but splendid.....will always remember Tiny Tim and his ukulele. Class.

My first ever gig was UFO at the Odeon in 1980 when I was 15. Great stuff.
For a few years at that time I was totally into heavy rock and I went to see some of the classic rock bands of the time as they almost all played Edinburgh when they were touring. So I saw the likes of Rainbow, Thin Lizzy (several times), Judas Priest, Black sabbath (with a fledgling Iron Maiden supporting), Saxon, Rush (several times), Michael Schenker Group etc. Even though I kind of grew out of all that and got into loads of other music, I still like to this day many of those bands. Heavy Metal was a bit of an outlet for me at that time.
Don't think Maiden supported Sabbath but the did support Priest.

I saw The Smiths at the playhouse, James were the support band. The Smiths were excellent, James less so.
what i remember most about the Smiths gig was the band walking out on stage in semi darkness to Prokofiev's Romeo and Juliet pounding out through the speakers. Stirring stuff.

Choosing three is almost impossible for most of us I guess, so for dessert.....

The Who : Isle of Wight Festival 1970.

The Jimi Hendrix Experience : Isle of Wight Festival 1970.

The Doors : Isle of Wight Festival 1970.

As an aside, the recent controversy about the singing/non singing of Land of Hope and Glory at the Proms in the past few weeks reminded me of this at the Festival. Dinnae take offence my Nationalist amigos, 600,000 very stoned folk accompaniment, it was bizarre but splendid.....will always remember Tiny Tim and his ukulele. Class.

I'm jealous, would loved to have seen The Who with Keith Moon

50 years ago last week. Where did all that time go?

No your eyes have not been effected by mind altering substances.Three quid for the whole weekend. Having left school a few months before and my auld man being skint, I would never have attended this if not for the kindness of one of the two mates that I went with, whose father was a History lecturer who he got the dough off.

isle-of-wight-poster.jpg

vista.jpg
I'm jealous, would loved to have seen The Who with Keith Moon

Don't think Maiden supported Sabbath but the did support Priest.
You are almost certainly correct. To be honest, I couldn't remember which one it was that Maiden were the support band, and both the Sabbath and Priest gigs were the same year and it was a hell of a long time ago ! I do remember Paul Dianno was the lead singer at that time.

It was support for Judas Priest mate at the Odeon mate. I was on holiday, however the same year I saw Iron Maiden at Tiffanys of all places in 1980. Paul Dianno defo the singer.
Saw Blach Sabbath in 1971 or maybe 72 at the Empire. Biggest speakers I've seen in my life. Couldnae hear for some time after the gig.

Hmmm, just three?
Ok, Leftfield Leftim tour Barrowlands 1995 (I think). Anyone there talks of it as one of their top gigs, magical and mind altering in many ways
Public Enemy Fear of a Black Planet tour (1990 I think) Barrowlands. Best hip hop in the history of hip hop, left feeling knackered, full of energy, angry and very happy.
Amy Winehouse Bennicassim 2007. Just felt very privileged to have seen her sing, a tiny giant of a singer.

Others trying to push themselves onto this post, must resist.......

999 somewhere in glasgow
Vice squad at the heathery bar wishaw
Toy dolls somewhere in kirkcaldy

U2 / The Pogues / The Mission / Love & Money / Run Rig
Aug 01, 1987 Murrayfield

Alice Cooper - Raise Your Fist and Yell World Tour
Apr 01, 1988 Playhouse

Runrig - Once in a Lifetime UK Tour
Dec 10, 1988 Playhouse Theatre

999 somewhere in glasgow
Vice squad at the heathery bar wishaw
Toy dolls somewhere in kirkcaldy

Toy Dolls are great fun live. Saw them at the Garage in Glasgow about 10 years ago. I'll need to catch them again some day.

Saw them in a place that was more like a private gig it was like a livingroom with a big fireplace .they played in the corner the place had three different levels to it oh those mushroom dinners dont half play havoc with the mind ?

David Bowie (Ziggy Stardust): Empire Edinburgh 1973

Ella Fitzgerald : Playhouse Edinburgh 1981

The Specials : Tiffany's Edinburgh 1979 (The Selector and Madness, all for less than £2 !!)

Bowie gig was brilliant at the empire,loved him ever since
Slade early 70s at the appolo in Glasgow
Roxy music at the hallemunsterland in Munster 1978

They say you always remember your first o er .the first concert I attended was ultravox at Grangemouth town hall who where supported by a young simple minds ,as a young sixteen year old a was blown away by the noise and excitement.
Seen the cure in Glasgow and missed the build up because of the fa cup final replay was on and I wanted to see the game Spurs v man city

Also seen the stranglers at the Apollo that was awesome great music and a few fights what's not to like ?

In no particular order

Carter the unstoppable sex machine - Livingston Forum
The Buzzcocks - Edinburgh Odeon
The Jam - Edinburgh Playhouse

I was at the Edinburgh Odeon gig if that’s the Joy Division one.

Rush at Ingelston 82ish
Marillion at the Playhouse
Motorhead Playhouse

like Greenmachine saw most of the big heavy metal acts who came through Edinburgh on tours in the early 80s. :rep:

Gil Scott Heron at Queens Hall circa 1997
Skatalites and the Selecter on Renfrew Ferry
Kraftwerk at Benicassim in 2004

Been lucky to see a lot of great gigs over the years and try and go to one a month, very hard to pick 3 favourites including Oasis at Irvine Beach and Loch Lomond, the Stone Roses, Pink Floyd, Brian Wilson, seen Beta Band, Charlatans and Springsteen plenty times.
A Certain Ratio at voodoo rooms last year best recent one

Some good memories on this thread. I liked the Joshua Tree U2 at Murrayfield supported by the Pogues, Kansas at Hammersmith Odeon back in the late 70s, supported by Jim Capaldi and the Contenders. My fav was a surprise, by an old Proffessor who was near passing away, passionate CND campaigner, had an old radio in his room set on classic FM, hissing and cracking, I made the mistake of trying to get a better reception while Mario Lanza was singing, I'll walk with God, I said that was my dads favourite " mine too" he said and sang it to me word for word in the most beautiful voice I've heard. That is still my fav performance.

Steve Hillage Edinburgh University, six tins of export, a strange cake and a bean bag that turned into a PAC MAN and ate me. Very unique experience. It was called Green. Lovely.

I saw Gil Scott Heron at Clouds early 80s great night.

Also saw U2 at Clouds about 79/80.Thought they were crap.

Saw 999 up the Nite Club,one of the many bands I saw there,never away from the place.

That first Specials gig in Glasgow when they reformed was unreal, New Order gigs always been great too, honourable mention to James Brown, Lou Reed, Roy Ayers, Marlena Shaw, Michael Marra and also the big dance acts in the 90s like Orbital, Leftfield, Chemical Bros, Prodigy etc.

I do miss going out to gigs, last one was Jon Hopkins at Usher Hall in March ( huns lost at home to Hamilton that night )

I enjoyed the Tarlair music festival mid nineties, set in a salty open air pool in a cove near Banff. Magnum, Fish, The Party Boys ( connected to the sensational Alex Harvey band I believe? Big G? Jethro Tull. Iain Anderson quoted as saying " I've never played a gig in such a beautiful setting. Froze in the tent later that night, nothing to do with drinking pales of cider. Teehee.

The Sensational Party Boys were the SAHB without Alex who died a decade earlier. The same guys before Alex were called Tear Gas, who I saw in a community centre in Dalkeith, 1970/71. The following year they joined Alex to form SAHB and by Christ they were.

I went to two early Womad events in the 80s one was at Mersea Island which was out Norfolk way the next was near Bristol,there was all sorts of bands played from the Banshees to the Bow Gamelan Orchestra magical weekend s apart from some *&*^ cutting open my tent and making off with a radio

The Sensational Party Boys were the SAHB without Alex who died a decade earlier. The same guys before Alex were called Tear Gas, who I saw in a community centre in Dalkeith, 1970/71. The following year they joined Alex to form SAHB and by Christ they were.

Thanks G, new you would know. Alex Harvey was a showman, destined to burn out. These guys never got to rest.

This thread has been viewed 5937 times.