The standard of the performances

And we'll punish teams along the way.
No point playing with "what ifs"

One decent performance against Livi, the rest have been very poor that needs addressed. Points I am delighted with don’t get me wrong but there are parts of our squad that we need to improve on.

We look disjointed

We need a midfielder who takes the ball and drives forward

Really only got allan who has the quality to play a telling pass , we are riding our luck hopefully we don't try and sit on it and get more quality in .
It worries me a bit hes looking for another defensive midfielder .

One decent performance against Livi, the rest have been very poor that needs addressed. Points I am delighted with don’t get me wrong but there are parts of our squad that we need to improve on.

Not saying we don't need to inprove either, even if we were blowing teams away, we would need to continue getting better, such is the way the game works.

If teams can't beat us, then we have a chance to win.

I prefer the points over performances. All day, every day, forever.

This is the Aberdeen style of play, if we beat them with this next week i will laugh like fuck

Midfield. Last couple of games I’ve watched is it seems large chunks of the game seems to pass the midfield by. Obviously something JR ect are trying to address.

Gogic needs help in there, Newell was poor first half but came into better in the second half, we are missing someone who can take the ball from defence and drive us on. I thought Horgan didn’t offer us much again today but I was impressed with Drey Wright as I mentioned in the other thread, what’s happened to Boyle?

Gantin today but some folk will be blinded by the fact we won. Don’t get me wrong, delighted to have won ugly, but not so delighted at the performance. Apart from the Livi game, I think we have looked pretty average on most games apart from a few spells.

Hopefully it’s just the fact it’s still early days and we are a couple quality signings short of looking a bit more entertaining.

Not saying we don't need to inprove either, even if we were blowing teams away, we would need to continue getting better, such is the way the game works.

If teams can't beat us, then we have a chance to win.

I prefer the points over performances. All day, every day, forever.
That only works so long though or the odd game very rarely does a team have a great season playing pish.

Hearts have bossed us for decades playing shite football
Aberdeen in recent seasons

The Sheep in recent seasons

And beat us 3 - 1 in the last derby, so playing shite isn’t going to last through a full season.

The fuck has that got to with anything?

Edit, in fact, proves my point.
They were fucking horrendous and still beat us.

The Sheep in recent seasons
Do you watch hearts and aberdeen every game do you ?

The fuck has that got to with anything?

Thought we were talking about performances and you mentioned the Gunts.

Do you watch hearts and The Sheep every game do you ?

I watch scottish football and I'm well aware of the standards and how teams play funnily enough

Thought we were talking about performances and you mentioned the Gunts.

I'm talking about teams not being able to score against us this season...

Gantin today but some folk will be blinded by the fact we won. Don’t get me wrong, delighted to have won ugly, but not so delighted at the performance. Apart from the Livi game, I think we have looked pretty average on most games apart from a few spells.

Hopefully it’s just the fact it’s still early days and we are a couple quality signings short of looking a bit more entertaining.
It doesn't say much for the opposition.

I've watched more games since the seasons start than I've done in many a year.
Not one team I've seen has looked really good.
And the games have been pretty dour.
Even the Tim's dont look that hot, and they're usually the benchmark for decent attacking football.
Sign of the times maybe?

If we put in a performance like today or the other games against Killie, Dundee United & Motherwell the both old firm will destroy us.

I watch scottish football and I'm well aware of the standards and how teams play funnily enough
Funny enough your wrong

Okay

I'm talking about teams not being able to score against us this season...

Your Gunts comment was nothing to do with this season though.

If we put in a performance like today or the other games against Killie, Dundee United & Motherwell the both old firm will destroy us.

Did you see Celtic today?

Your Gunts comment was nothing to do with this season though.

And either does last seasons result against them

Did you see Smellies... today?

They weren’t playing today, but no didn’t see their game yesterday.

Apologies...
Rubbish, late winner, lucked out

That's where I'm at

I was saying for ages how shite Hecky's football was and it wasn't until a 6-1 tanking at Ibrox that folk started to get on his back

The defence has been excellent 5 games in but no way can we keep playing like this

Imagine on 1st of august someone said we will be joint top, 13/15 points, 8 goals scored 2 conceded...everyone would have bitten their hand off for that start and people are still complaining

Apologies...
Rubbish, late winner, lucked out

There is no disagreement here, you want improvement and so do I

Just to keep it real, last season, it took us almost 4 months to get to 13 points. This season that has taken nearly 4 weeks. ?

What a fantastic platform to build on, seeing as we've hardly kicked a ba'.

That's where I'm at

I was saying for ages how shite Hecky's football was and it wasn't until a 6-1 tanking at Ibrox that folk started to get on his back

The defence has been excellent 5 games in but no way can we keep playing like this

You've never had a good thing to say about anything

'The defence has been excellent'

It has.
Much as I think Porteous has a long way to go to be a top, composed defender, his commitment and desire cannot be faulted.
Hanlon does his job well too.
Dont know if JR has had a word , but he seems more assertive than previous seasons.
McGinn has been a revelation for me.
Good , solid , reliable player.
Doig looks a good prospect.
Needs a bit of building up strength wise, but that will come.
Have to put Gogic in there too. Some engine the guy has, and not afraid to get in the opposition box .
Het a decent midfield balance , and things could take off.
FWIW, I thought we looked more threatening g when Hallberg , Gullan and Wright came on.

It doesn't say much for the opposition.

I've watched more games since the seasons start than I've done in many a year.
Not one team I've seen has looked really good.
And the games have been pretty dour.
Even the Tim's dont look that hot, and they're usually the benchmark for decent attacking football.
Sign of the times maybe?
I think it’s because there’s nae fans, teams Are no getting encouragement or pelters from the crowd. Bound tae affect them.

It has.
Much as I think Porteous has a long way to go to be a top, composed defender, his commitment and desire cannot be faulted.
Hanlon does his job well too.
Dont know if JR has had a word , but he seems more assertive than previous seasons.
McGinn has been a revelation for me.
Good , solid , reliable player.
Doig looks a good prospect.
Needs a bit of building up strength wise, but that will come.
Have to put Gogic in there too. Some engine the guy has, and not afraid to get in the opposition box .
Het a decent midfield balance , and things could take off.
FWIW, I thought we looked more threatening g when Hallberg , Gullan and Wright came on.
The subs defo made a difference as for me newell allan were poor ,thought Gullane looked good .

Might aswell punt Boyle now?

Contract getting low...and flatters to decieve at the moment.
Dont think his head is all there at the moment.

Had one fantastic game this season.

Unless we were getting serious money then no

Might aswell punt Boyle now?

Contract getting low...and flatters to decieve at the moment.
Dont think his head is all there at the moment.

Had one fantastic game this season.

Boyle has found his level at Hibs

I don't think he will get the move he's hoping for

He might , of course, be wingin it until the windae shuts and wants tae stay here. ?

From what I’ve seen of the old firm they don’t look too sharp either, I’m not overly worried. What’s more important is winning games against the teams around and below us, we’ve done that so far.

The Aberdeen game next weekend is a real benchmark for where we are.

From what I’ve seen of the old firm they don’t look too sharp either, I’m not overly worried. What’s more important is winning games against the teams around and below us, we’ve done that so far.

The The Sheep game next weekend is a real benchmark for where we are.

Zab delighted where we are in terms of points just want improvements in our overall play like a lot on here. I recall the Zombies weren’t up to much before they played us yet they beat us 6 - 1 when our defence got dominated by a 30 odd yr old striker, that’s my concern.

Boyle has found his level at Hibs

I don't think he will get the move he's hoping for

I agree, playing for a team top of the top league in Scotland. Imagine he played for the gunts, that would be way below his level.

This thread has been viewed 21294 times.