Full Time: Hibernian 2 v 1 Kimarnock

Hello my love, it’s been a while. The Hibees are back! A new season, new players in, old players out. Strangely empty seats, no atmosphere, I imagine that is what it like playing for Hamilton or Livingston?

10.500 seasons sold for games we cannae attend, Hibs TV nearly ready for the watching thousands, new strips ready for collection and warm weather. Magic.

So to Hibernian, our team. Well we have made a few signings, all three look decent, convinced we need a couple more, in defence, it may see one or two leave too. The rat still hangs around like a bad smell, we need rid of him n’all.

How to pick a team we have not seen since March? Me, I think we will look something like this:

Rocky Marciano

Sir David Gray

Ryan Porteous

Paul Hanlon

Lewis Stevenson

Alex Rogic

Joe Newell

Scott Allan

Martin Boyle

Kevin Nisbet and

Christian Doidge

If Doidge doesn’t make it, I would go with Jamie Gullan.

Go at them, score goals, play the Hibernian way.

Had a brief look at Killie, Clubfoot still starts for them, so we know they are weak at the back, they have lost O’Donnell and the very decent Eamon Brophy and Gary Dicker in the middle remain an injury doubt. They are good out wide with the auld boy Burke and the young lad McKenzie is a player. It won’t be easy.

The referee is Brother Beaton, who will no doubt favour any team in Blue.

I would normally end by saying see you all behind the goal, and I cannae wait for the day we do. For now, tune in and cheer on our bonnie boys.

Definitely need a couple new signings that defence was past it all from the start of last season bar young Porteous who hopefully stays injury free all season. I still think we are short up front with two untested strikers at this level being a massive risk, hopefully Doidge can hit the ground running this season. Kilmarnock have strengthened and it will be a tough game, let's do this Hibs.

Marciano

Gray
Porteous
Hanlon
Stevenson

Boyle
Gogic
Allan
Newell
Horgan

Nisbet

Hearing Doidge is struggling so I went for this team.
Back 4 makes me sick tbh. But here we go again on another Hibs roller coaster.

Is Hibs tv open for a Killie fan to pay and watch the game?

Minute one ....Porto to obliterate someone, set the tone for the season

Is Hibs tv open for a Killie fan to pay and watch the game?

No, just Hibs STs for this one.

Thanks, I thought that but he wasn't convinced. I told him to try and purchase the game and let me know how he gets on.

Back 4 makes me sick tbh.

Three of them club legends and they make you sick?! Wow.

Clean sheet and a 2-0 win for the Hibees. Jack will have his team ready to go. The playets showing in training and bounce games should be first picks. Going to need every player at some point. If Doidge is not 100%, don't play him.

Score draw. Absolute certainty.

Three of them club legends and they make you sick?! Wow.

Get a grip mate you know exactly what I mean. Porto only 1 out that back four should start. Others are past it.

Very hard to predict with any accuracy the first game of the season. Hope we adapt quickly to the non-crowds.
Really hope Doidge is able to play, it would be a bummer to start the season without our top scorer.

I will go for 2-1 Hibs.

The famous Hibernians 3 v Silly Billy's 0

23/1.....bet on

New Strip arrived today, converted my summerhouse into a sports bar (get about 5 in there) , managed to log on to get the game tomorrow, what's not to like.

GGTTHHibs Shirt.jpgBar 1.jpgBar 2.jpg

I'll be sitting by the smart tv login details tried n tested with some cold buds , shirt on came this morning nice fit furlough size ? Looking for a glimpse of my cardboard cutout , making his debut tomorrow hope he keeps his feet on the ground n remembers where he came from? Probably watching a score draw but hoping for a win GGTTH

New Strip arrived today, converted my summerhouse into a sports bar (get about 5 in there) , managed to log on to get the game tomorrow, what's not to like.

GGTTHView attachment 3100View attachment 3101View attachment 3103

Superb.
Enjoy ?

I fancy us to scud this mob and lay down a marker.

So 1-1.

I think it will be 3-5-2

Marciano

Porto Jackson Hanlon

Boyle Allan Gogic Mallan? Newell

Doidge Nisbet

But I wouldn't bet the mortgage on it as we've only had one glimpse of a largely second string team against Celtic the other week.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

I think it will be 3-5-2

Marciano

Porto Jackson Hanlon

Boyle Allan Gogic Mallan? Newell

Doidge Nisbet

But I wouldn't bet the mortgage on it as we've only had one glimpse of a largely second string team against Smellies... the other week.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

That with Horgan instead of Mallan would make me happy. Smack em early and switch to a back 5.

[QUOTE="stickyRicky, post: 1705249, member:
Back 4 makes me sick tbh.

I think you mean nervous???

@1875 are you doing a just back from your couch? :7:
[/QUOTE]

Our average defence looks the key to the season but at least they should get far more protection with Radge Rogic in the team.✅

Its a huge season for Porto as to whether his knee can stand up to the challenge and whether he himself can bring calmness and composure to his own game.

He is still just a very promising young player but one who could go far with a little more maturity.?

YLT Daz wont be playing twice a week but that's OK as he rarely lets the side down and McGinn and SDG give us options at RB though attacking from either flank with bombing full backs isn't going to happen.

Its a bit early for Doig on the other side but what an asset that would be if he can compete with Louis.??

Midfield again looks very strong with lots of options but we are still light up front but again young Gullan could make a huge difference if he can break through.

The good thing about our area of the league this year is everyone looks weaker so by default we should finish much higher up as there is nothing to fear in our section.

We do look a little more balanced than last year but big questions in defence but on paper have brought in a little more pace and strength and have young players on the cusp of breaking through.

If they can and whether Nizzy can cut it will help define our season.?

Get a grip mate you know exactly what I mean. Porto only 1 out that back four should start. Others are past it.
I get what you mean, but it wasnt the best way of putting it tbh, as smurf rightly says

Rocky
Porto
Jackson
Doig
Gogic
Newell
Alan
Wright
Boyle
Nesbit
Doidge

Marciano

SDG
Jackson
Porto
Lewis

Boyle
Gogic
Newell

Allan

Doidge
Nisbet

Works for me...

GGTTH!

@1875 are you doing a just back from your couch? :7:

That is my plan, no sure how it will work?

Would it not be good to put Doig in in this game. Imo its the ideal situ to put him in

100% mate, JR spoke very highly of him, I liked the look of the boy against a Celtic B team where others struggled.

100% mate, JR spoke very highly of him, I liked the look of the boy against a Smellies... B team where others struggled.

Do you think he is a better player than Lewis?

That is my plan, no sure how it will work?
You cannae use your Caveat of ‘didnae see it in the telly’ ?

Do you think he is a better player than Lewis?

Lewis shouldn’t be guaranteed a start, I have been crying out for players to come in and provide competition and Doig has certainly done that. For me he would be starting tomorrow, he was our best defender against a Celtic B team.

You cannae use your Caveat of ‘didnae see it in the telly’ ?

That is my concern, I like doing it live and from memory, I have missed about 10 games in 20 years, and only seen a couple of those I missed on the telly. Might use the 'I didnae see it live, the telly angles are shite' angle?

Or the 24 bottles of Birra Moretti for £22 in Morrisons and am blootered on my sofa reasoning. :22: ?

Lewis shouldn’t be guaranteed a start, I have been crying out for players to come in and provide competition and Doig has certainly done that. For me he would be starting tomorrow, he was our best defender against a Smellies... B team.

Agree, but tomorrow is not for Doig starting in my opinion.

After seeing JR’s comments I think he will start. The boy will be buzzing after that game, scored a good goal too, for me he has staked his claim.

I think the manager might just thrown in a surprise or two in personnel because he can get away with it in the opening couple of games.

I suspect it will be 4-2-3-1 tomorrow, but what will be more interesting is how JR uses the 5 subs, because that makes it much easier to make wholesale changes to shape and/or make 2 subs at half time and not leave yourself short. Depends how deep the quality in the squad is.

Doidge out injured seemingly

Took a bad knee knock earlier in the month and hasn't taken part in any pre-season games. He is back training but he is not ready yet to play. This for me is actually a bigger blow for us than is being intimated. IMO when a player misses the entire pre-season through injury he never quite gets back to full fitness during the season...we saw this with Lewis Stevenson last season. Probably the worst time to get an injury is during pre-season training. To have this happen to our top goalscorer is not good news but we just have to get on with it.

Jackson and Mallan also doubtful.

The manager will never be in a position to name a first choice fully fit team, so it's vitally important he has a strong squad and that his back up players are good and reliable enough to come in and seamlessly fit into the team. I do think we will see much more regular appearances from the likes of Ben Stirling, Fraser Murray and Josh Doig as the season goes on.

3-1 Hibs

Co-pilot says 1-3 Killie

3-1 Hibs

Co-pilot says 1-3 Killie

Bale out. Let the fcuker crash and burn.

Never even realised we'd signed him

Lot of chat in the papers that Chris Burke had ripped - future Barca star - Hickey up for arsepaper.

Doig’s attributes are more offensively I believe and it’s a big ask to drop Lewis normally.

Got to say I’m choking on a decent attacking full back mind

E1882A02-7645-4BF2-9F8A-AA61F490DA92.jpeg

This thread has been viewed 6685 times.