Painting and decorating.

I need my hall done.I started to do it myself but I'm afraid I'm no painter or decorator.But every time I go back to my flat my heart sinks a bit because the hall's in a mess.I live in a council flat and asked them to do some plaster work for me, but they just did a patch up job.I tried to paint the ceiling myself but it doesn't look the same as you see in magazines.There's also the problem of this corona virus,I live on my own so don't know where the problem would be.I'm looking to get it painted and wallpapered,do you know roughly how much it would cost?

The price will be dependent on the preparation required . Do the walls need stripped of existing paper, what condition are the walls and woodwork in, what type of paper are you hanging etc. I'd love to help you out but I've just started a load of interior, exterior windows which is going to take me the good part of a month, as I'm doing it after my normal daytime work hours. But if you want me to come and have a look and give you some advice and a price range id be happy to.

Plus your a Clash fan.?

My mates a pilot. He got paid off recently and has went back to his old trade, painting. He just finished mine and made a great job of the landing.

The price will be dependent on the preparation required . Do the walls need stripped of existing paper, what condition are the walls and woodwork in, what type of paper are you hanging etc. I'd love to help you out but I've just started a load of interior, exterior windows which is going to take me the good part of a month, as I'm doing it after my normal daytime work hours. But if you want me to come and have a look and give you some advice and a price range id be happy to.
that'd be fine-take note of user name I live in enemy territory

My mates a pilot. He got paid off recently and has went back to his old trade, painting. He just finished mine and made a great job of the landing.
glad his job is taking off.

Couple of paint related questions:

How long do you have to wait for plaster to dry before painting?

Can you use a roller with metal paint?

If it’s just been skimmed usually a couple of days. If it’s been two coated, depending on how thick it can take more than a week tae dry Mark. I painted a van wi a mini roller and metal paint, you would struggle with a big roller.

Plaster can take various times to dry completely, dependant on temperatures and weather conditions. Its mostly a visual thing, when the plaster changes colour from dark to light its good to go. Mind and thin the paint for new plaster for the first coat.1 in 10 ratio works well. As for metal paint it depends on what the surface your painting is like and what finish you want to achieve. Various rollers give Various finishes but brush gives the smoothest finish. Rollers can sometimes leave a very fine dimpled effect.

Cheers for the replies lads. Didn't know about thinning so good tip. The metal is a ramp for my sister in law's wheelchair that looks a wee bit tired. It's got a tread on it so maybe not ideal for rollers?

If a ramp try a galvanised spray paint Mark.
Drys quick also.
Ill message you Monday usually got stacks at work if silver ok?

If a ramp try a galvanised spray paint Mark.
Drys quick also.
Ill message you Monday usually got stacks at work if silver ok?
Ah, thanks for the offer man. Bought 5L of Hammerite ( £55!) and did it last week. One thing though, it's very slippy now. It's textured steel, was thinking about redoing it but adding some sand to the paint to give it a wee bit more grip...is that something you've heard of before?

I’m sure yi can get anti slip paint Mark. I used it a few years back on a concrete path. No sure if yi can get it for metal though.

This thread has been viewed 1035 times.