Corona virus on its own thread.

Bang on

0 deaths in 72 hours and hardly any new cases in the past week.
Sometimes I think folk would prefer it if the figures were higher.

I would suggest that the Scottish Government fall into the latter catagory more or less following the UK Government but keeping a distance. An announcement about scrapping 14 days isolation is imminent.

See my response to your previous question?

Running a couple of weeks behind the UK gov seems to have worked in halting the virus at this point,that’s all that matters.

See my response to your previous question?

I knew that explanation from Freeman, I saw it and find it incredible that for a month there has been no attempt to to follow up arrivals. It surely not beyond the wit or wisdom of the Scottish Government and authorities to have introduce some kind of passenger location form.
Further to this I have asked why they did/could not close Scotlands air borders after the Nike outbreak, setting up quarentine hotels a la New Zealand.
Freeman also said that asked whether Scotland was the only part of the UK where no checks had been made Freeman responded: “I don’t know about Northern Ireland or Wales." when asked if they were in the same situation. Has she got a phone.

I knew that explanation from Freeman, I saw it and find it incredible that for a month there has been no attempt to to follow up arrivals. It surely not beyond to wit of the Scottish Government and authorities to have introduce some kind of passenger location form.
Further to this I have asked why they did/could not close Scotlands air borders after the Nike outbreak, setting up quarentine hotels a la New Zealand.

Can you imagine the hysteria from Unionist and non nationalists if air borders to Scotland had been closed. They are pissing their drawers about a few dafties howling at the moon at folk fi Eyemouth doing their shopping in Berwick.

So what are your thoughts on the fact the Scottish Govt had no access to the details of who comes in and out, should they give the Hun Bigot a phone in the North of Ireland and see what she is doing?

Around the world virus day 1 is taken as the first confirmed case in each country. The clock starts ticking then so it's how ever many days after that actions should be measured. You might have noticed this when looking at the @SlovSam graphs. Countries like Italy and Spain have lines that stick out way ahead of most other countries including the UK.

England is taken as the 31st January.
Scotland is taken as the 2nd March.

In the development of the disease in Scotland we been around 30 days behind England.

Both countries locked down around the same calendar date. In effect Scotland locked down 30 days earlier than England on the virus timer ... and so on.

As both countries have followed a similar path, date wise or Scotland being a little behind, we have in fact acted 2 to 4 weeks ahead of England in terms of the disease timer.

I think that's been one of the major factors in Scotland's death toll being significantly less (per million) than down south and that Scotland has recorded zero deaths quite often over the last couple of weeks while England hasn't yet recorded any.

Scotland has a plan linked to the virus timer whereas as I see it England was reactionary, lagging behind the virus timer by that crucial few weeks.

Can you imagine the hysteria from Unionist and non nationalists if air borders to Scotland had been closed. They are pissing their drawers about a few dafties howling at the moon at folk fi Eyemouth doing their shopping in Berwick.

So what are your thoughts on the fact the Scottish Govt had no access to the details of who comes in and out, should they give the Hun Bigot a phone in the North of Ireland and see what she is doing?

I have no idea what the hell happened, intentional or incompetence. Either way anything that could possibly increase the number of infections and deaths like this is outrageous.
If I had anything to do with the Scottish Government I would have advised shouting continuously about what was happening from the rooftops, since isolation implimentation on 8th June. Putting the blame where it squarely lies and not waiting for an expose (which must be a first) by the renowned investigative journal, the Sunday Post.

Parts of Oz going back to lockdown
Pubs in England closed as customers test positive.

I watched as my local pubs opened yesterday, folk cuddling and hugging after a few drinks, large groups sitting tightly together.

I see a lot of hard work being undone sooner rather than later unfortunately

Parts of Oz going back to lockdown
Pubs in England closed as customers test positive.

I watched as my local pubs opened yesterday, folk cuddling and hugging after a few drinks, large groups sitting tightly together.

I see a lot of hard work being undone sooner rather than later unfortunately
I've said all along it's going to be impossible for people to socially distance in a pub, especially after a few bevvies.

Wear a mask

I've said all along it's going to be impossible for people to socially distance in a pub, especially after a few bevvies.
One high ranked Police Officer in the South has already echoed your words GM. ( Not to be taken literally ).

Wear a mask

I wonder if that result actually reflects specificity issues with the tests. Specificity being the number of correct negatives produced, which I've read is around 95%. Maybe those people actually don't have the disease at all.

Which also prompts an interesting question about Scotland - if we're doing 3,000 tests a day, with a specificity of 95%, then assuming the vast majority of those people don't have the disease we'd expect around 150 false positives per day. Wonder what happens to those?

I wonder if that result actually reflects specificity issues with the tests. Specificity being the number of correct negatives produced, which I've read is around 95%. Maybe those people actually don't have the disease at all.

Which also prompts an interesting question about Scotland - if we're doing 3,000 tests a day, with a specificity of 95%, then assuming the vast majority of those people don't have the disease we'd expect around 150 false positives per day. Wonder what happens to those?
Actually just realised that article is about antibody tests, not the PCR tests.

View media item 443
As a bit of light relief from the gloom , Germany ?? are talking about letting football fans return to stadiums (Yippee?).

The region of Sachsen (RB Leipzig) are proposing crowds of over 1,000 from 1 September but with a small caveat.(Boo Hiss ?)

I don't think Petra attends many games.?

one of the worry spots at the moment is the feckin anti body levels in people who has had covid..... dropping to zero! Spanish lab tests have shown this.

Can make it that bit harder to collect effective plasma with high antibody levels for giving to seriously ill patients. Time since having the Covid becoming critical.

In a world context potential consequences to this are grim as fuck as people could get it over and over again. How often could a person take something like this on and keep coming through it. This bug is a ninja.

Brutal.

I see the rectionary President or Brazil Jair
Bolsonaro has tested positive. Yes he of no mask, shaking and hugging supporters at rallies including the US Ambassador on 4th July, oh dear, and describing the virus as just sniffles.
So that's Donald 'no worse than flu' Trump , largest number of deaths on Earth, Jair 'sniffles' Bolsonaro, second largest number of deaths.
And then there is our very own Super ' It’s no more deadly than the regular flu IMO'Tortolano.

I watched Sturgeon's daily briefing today and the Scottish news on radio and TV. Did I miss something or was there no 'red list' apart from the Spanish and Serbian situation mentioned?

Try this for an expanation:

Fixed that for you, at 54% plus in favour of independence, its time we moved on and left this sorry Tory mess far behind.

What a financial package realeased today

Yet again Westminster saving us from oblivion

Why would anyone ever want to leave ?

#55to45

I watched Surgeon's daily briefing today and the Scottish news on radio and TV. Did I miss something or was there no 'red list' apart from the Spanish and Serbian situation mentioned?

Didn't see it BIG G but these air corridors concern me a bit. I mean who the F would let anyone from the UK (read England because it alone still has more deaths daily than the rest of Europe combined) in?

It isn't a bilateral agreement between countries, more a wish list for the UK (and the devolved nations now). Some of those listed won't let anyone in never mind the pox infested Brits. Some on the list don't have a commercial airport. In fact the Vatican City doesn't even have an airport!

If however you have a holiday booked to any of these places and you can't go because they won't let you in, or are likely be be quarantined on arrival its unlikely you'll be able to claim on your travel insurance because the UK says it's ok. (Source, Martin Lewis yesterday)

Didn't see it BIG G but these air corridors concern me a bit. I mean who the F would let anyone from the UK (read England because it alone still has more deaths daily than the rest of Europe combined) in?

It isn't a bilateral agreement between countries, more a wish list for the UK (and the devolved nations now). Some of those listed won't let anyone in never mind the pox infested Brits. Some on the list don't have a commercial airport. In fact the Vatican City doesn't even have an airport!

If however you have a holiday booked to any of these places and you can't go because they won't let you in, or are likely be be quarantined on arrival its unlikely you'll be able to claim on your travel insurance because the UK says it's ok. (Source, Martin Lewis yesterday)
I thought the list announced today was specifically just a list of countries that people returning from wouldn't have to quarantine when they arrived back in this country?

While I'm having a wee rant did anyone see this. Another very lucrative contract awarded without tendering to a company that's got ties with the Torys and incidentally never sold a single item of PPE in its puff!

Government awards £252m PPE contract to private equity firm
Ayanda Capital Limited, owned through an offshore holding firm based in the tax haven of Mauritius, secured deal to supply an undisclosed number of face masks

I thought the list announced today was specifically just a list of countries that people returning from wouldn't have to quarantine when they arrived back in this country?
It is. But as I said some of them, like Australia (they wont even let anyone leave except in exceptional circumstances) you can't get to because their governments wont let us in never mind come back from and not quarantine. It's not a list of current holiday destinations as some are making out.

They'll all be ok at some time in the future, at the moment I don't think it means very much at all.

And another thing :3:

I hope no one missed that the government was going to tax those workers that were tested for covid and it was paid for through their work.

You'd have to have been quick as they did a U turn on it and changed their mind!

#55to45
A freebie?
Ya beauty!
Wonder where the Chancellor got the money from?

#55to45

Explain, you have lost me?

#55to45
we could start with the heady combination of one of the worst death rates in the world and AND AND one of the worst economic impacts in the world. And that’s just some of the mess of the last few months

Nike conference

Packed football stadiums

Packed hydro

Scotland wouldn't have done anything differently.

We are diddies and always have been

Nike conference

Packed football stadiums

Packed hydro

Scotland wouldn't have done anything differently.

We are diddies and always have been
deary me that’s desperate. I didn’t mention anything about the Scottish government. You implied that Westminster had been great, which is almost trumpian in its attempt to displace the truth, which is one of one unmitigated disaster after another, interspersed with contemptuous behaviour towards frontline staff, a do as i say attitude and blatant corruption. There are certainly diddies about who think this is all acceptable, but theyre on the wrong side of history.

Back in the real world......

#55to45
What a joke. It's a prile of crap.

1. These tory bastards are paying half a meal or £10 over 12 days! Ten quid for half a meal? Where? I know the House of Commons restaurants are cheap, I didn't realise they were that cheap!

2. Astonishingly the head of the Inland Revenue has publicly described the job retention scheme as poor value for money and the reduction in VAT ineffective.

3. The Scottish Government bonus from yesterday's pish is less than 1% new money that could have been expected from the total announced.

At a time when the economy was previously on its knees a Labour Government introduced the NHS. In the following crises the Torys have bailed out the bankers through austerity, stealing money from the less well off to fund it, and now on the back of allowing a pandemic to sun amok through the population are buying the pudding.

You're not even a good troll.

What a joke. It's a prile of crap.

1. These tory bastards are paying half a meal or £10 over 12 days! Ten quid for half a meal? Where? I know the House of Commons restaurants are cheap, I didn't realise they were that cheap!

2. Astonishingly the head of the Inland Revenue has publicly described the job retention scheme as poor value for money and the reduction in VAT ineffective.

3. The Scottish Government bonus from yesterday's pish is less than 1% new money that could have been expected from the total announced.

At a time when the economy was previously on its knees a Labour Government introduced the NHS. In the following crises the Torys have bailed out the bankers through austerity, stealing money from the less well off to fund it, and now on the back of allowing a pandemic to sun amok through the population are buying the pudding.

You're not even a good troll.
It gets worse

Moaning at getting a tenner aff your meal?

Guess you Edinburghers wanted 20?

Closet Tories imo

Maybe i'm missing something. Scottish Government today announced pubs can open next week.
I thought they opened last week ? Folk sitting outside in beer gardens.

Maybe i'm missing something. Scottish Government today announced pubs can open next week.
Outdoors only at present,Indoors from next Wed

Should be interesting to see what the crazies get up to on Friday and Saturday night in the Tam O' Shanter, Marksman, Central and Spey Lounge.

I've been told that council officials have been round visiting pubs basically telling them what needs to happen to allow them to open. I'm assuming some sort of 'agreement' is reached and if the council returns and things are not as agreed they'll get shut down - that was the implication of what I was told. I also know of one bar that's been told it's not allowed to open.

So all the folk who have been relying on food banks to feed their family will get a tenner off when they are eating out.

Excellent.

So all the folk who have been relying on food banks to feed their family will get a tenner off when they are eating out.

Excellent.
Tae be fair Sir that is a wee bit like moaning that reducing the price o' fuel disnae help folk that cannae afford a car. If it helps tae keep pub and restaraunt staff in a job then shirley it's a bonus.

View media item 445
The Professor seems very downbeat today despite Scotland being virtually Covid free?.

Travel hubs mainly airport flights to a whole raft of countries reopen today and in England ??????? at least despite some decent recent progress the virus isn't yet under control.?.

Scotland's??????? achilles heel has always been its inability to protect the airports or the borders not with soldiers and barbed wire but with temperature guns, and form filling testers and tracers with the proper authority to question and turn back potentially risky travellers.

This thread has been viewed 320770 times.