It’s Sir Keir

Person one: "All English people are tories"
Person two: "They're not actually. In fact attitudes are broadly similar - and equally broad - across both countries."
Person three: "Actually although attitudes are similar, behaviour conflicts blah blah"

Thanks for your input, I guess.
Wasnt hard to understand or too abstract then was it you tube

In posts 104 and 107 you accused me of using marxism as a term of abuse, which I didn't and now your calling Henry L B a tube because he has a different opinion to you. Hmm

a. you were using marxism as a term of abuse, without even understanding what marxism is
b. i didn't call henry a tube because he disagreed with me, he and i disagree on all political things. I called him a tube because he was deliberately pretending not to understand my post, a post that he clearly does understand as he makes clear in his last post.

a. you were using marxism as a term of abuse, without even understanding what marxism is
b. i didn't call henry a tube because he disagreed with me, he and i disagree on all political things. I called him a tube because he was deliberately pretending not to understand my post, a post that he clearly does understand as he makes clear in his last post.
"I've got no time for blinkered Marxist ideology or right wing conservative ideology" hardly abuse.

Preceded by something about me, Big G, Karl Marx and the Canary. Be honest, you used the term Marxism in a pejorative way, and have not refuted my suggestions that you don't understand what it is, which kind of strengthens my point. Why use a term you clearly don't understand about people you don't agree with if not in a pejorative way?

Still not abuse by any stretch of the imagination and the point I was making ,which you well know was what would you ,big G or Karl Marx do differently to come up with an alternative instead of just slagging everybody else off.

Term of abuse just means using it pejoratively, not sure why you're getting so hung up on that. And as I said, I hadn't slagged anyone off at that point, which I'm happy to do as this incompetent bungling elitist mess of a British government have caused thousands of lives.

I'm not getting hung up on anything, just thought it was a bit off after accusing me of being abusive you called somebody else a tube

How many times. I didn't say you were being abusive, I said you were using a word as a term of abuse.

I didn't say it was hard to understand. I said it was hard to understand why you wrote it, given its lack of relevance.

It's really not worth getting upset about though, so let's just say I've picked you up wrong - for which I apologise - and leave it there.

You can still be utterly opposed to 'blinkered Marxist ideology', even if I think you have little idea what that actually means amigo, bar anti Left sloganism. Here's a very wee leg up. Pretty basic stuff however. The Corbyn and his Marxist Labour Party Manifesto position is utterly ridiculous as Gareth has pointed out and shows that this particular trope, one of many including anti-Semitism, by the billionaire owned MSM, Tory and Right wing Labour MP's, Labour Party Blairite beaurocrats conspiring to prevent a Labour Government, obviously got through to many. However Keir Starmer's ridiculous campaign for a second Brexit Referendum cost Labour dearly in Northern Labour Brexit seats. Not mentioned now. Airbrushed.

These may bore your pants off amigo , there is no shortcut to understanding mate, however may give you a glimpse of what Marxism is about and not the stereotypes you have. Watch Tony and reject the ideas at will. At least you can reject out of hand objectively. Grab some beers.

Regards

Marxist economics and the crisis of capitalism

Marxism, Keynesianism, and Modern Monetary Theory

To be fair, in my experience if you put 6 self-avowed Marxists round a table, even they couldn't agree "what Marxism is".

What "is" Marxism, G?

You can still be utterly opposed to 'blinkered Marxist ideology', even if I think you have little idea what that actually means amigo, bar anti Left sloganism. Here's a very wee leg up. Pretty basic stuff however. The Corbyn and his Marxist Labour Party Manifesto position is utterly ridiculous as Gareth has pointed out and shows that this particular trope, one of many including anti-Semitism, by the billionaire owned MSM, Tory and Right wing Labour MP's, Labour Party Blairite beaurocrats conspiring to prevent a Labour Government, obviously got through to many. However Keir Starmer's ridiculous campaign for a second Brexit Referendum cost Labour dearly in Northern Labour Brexit seats. Not mentioned now. Airbrushed.

These may bore your pants off amigo , there is no shortcut to understanding mate, however may give you a glimpse of what Marxism is about and not the stereotypes you have. Watch Tony and reject the ideas at will. At least you can reject out of hand objectively. Grab some beers.

Regards

It's not obvious to me quite how the labour theory of value, for example, applies to the commodification of data by the tech oligopoly (which furthermore becomes both a commodity and a currency).

?

It's not obvious to me quite how the labour theory of value, for example, applies to the commodification of data by the tech oligopoly (which furthermore becomes both a commodity and a currency).

:drop:

:102:

I only popped in to see if anybody was calling anybody else a tube today

You lot have a plan and I've worked it out, EGB is being mind controlled for a return, hopefully.

I think the administrators should insist that posts be written in English, or as close as some can get to it lol.

Even Shrinky managed to keep txt spk at a peep for long enough - although I notice he's relented a little recently.

Regards

Gordon my friend, please give me your take on the difference between Marxism and socialism in layman's terms. One thing I will quote " from each according to his ability to each according to his need" Marxism. People will be compensated based on their level of individual contribution to the economy, socialism. My take on this, "no matter how hard you work once you reach a certain economic level any extra will be taken from you and given to those who dont work as hard as you" Marxism
"The harder you work the greater the reward " Socialism. Marxists also see socialism as just a step on the way to communism.

And I look forward to our sharing a glass or 2 of the foaming nectar in Tamsons once this shit is over ???

I think the administrators should insist that posts be written in English, or as close as some can get to it lol.

Even Shrinky managed to keep txt spk at a peep for long enough - although I notice he's relented a little recently.

Reported.
:coffee1:

:102:

I only popped in to see if anybody was calling anybody else a tube today
tube

I think some are making up words and the others, no wantin tae look stupid by askin what the words mean, are just making up new ones and the thread carries on. Just my opinion mind, I could be dobrinous.

I dinnae ken what half the real words mean never mind the made up ones. I love dobrinous.

You'll go blind....

Dobrinous is a perfectly cromulent word.
Fact.

Me too, check, czeck, czhek, East European Beer can be lovely if chilled.

I was considering not having a beer tonight but now that you've mentioned it..

Its me and Mrs 1875's wedding anniversary today, so the vino tinto is opened, although just been discussing the merits of Birra Moretti there with my laddie, we both agree its extra nice when its a tenner for 12 in Morrisons!

Happy 145th wedding anniversary Mr & Mrs 1875, almost biblical. Enjoy.

Gordon my friend, please give me your take on the difference between Marxism and socialism in layman's terms. One thing I will quote " from each according to his ability to each according to his need" Marxism. People will be compensated based on their level of individual contribution to the economy, socialism. My take on this, "no matter how hard you work once you reach a certain economic level any extra will be taken from you and given to those who dont work as hard as you" Marxism
"The harder you work the greater the reward " Socialism. Marxists also see socialism as just a step on the way to communism.

Nae bother Tony it's ABC.....

Happy Anniversary 1875.
Saved you a few quid on a dinner eh?
It’s Mrs Shrinks birthday in just under a couple of weeks, so hopefully still in lockdown.

Neither @GORDONSMITH7 or @Gareth got any response to this, by the way? (Or any other self-confessed Marxists, for that matter?)

I stress – I'm not asking antagonistically, it's a genuine query and I'm genuinely puzzled. (Although it's fair to say I'm certainly asking from a position of scepticism, but then youse knew that!!)

No time just now Aggie. One thing I would say is that the labour theory of value precedes Marxism.

Nae worries G, any time you get a chance!
And I'm aware of that, but in the video Gordon posted to me about Marxist economics, they spend a great deal of time discussing it, and I don't think it's unfair to say that Marxists invoke it at every turn when talking about economics. (Maybe you don't, but plenty do – you're not going to deny that, I assume.)

PS I imagine both you and @GORDONSMITH7 have seen this, but just in case, it's quite a fun wee clip!:

This young guy sums the pre Marxian position in #131 on this thread Gareth.

This is what Aggie is talking about I think.

As I predicted on here the marginally right wing controlled National Executive Committee of the Labour Party would elect Sir Starmers choice of General Secretary, the most senior office in the Party, the Blairite lickspittle under Blair and utterly anti democratic, anti grass roots David Evans who was one of Blair's generals and a total gangster was elected.

What with this final peice in Sir Knights Blairite jigsaw, including hopeless duds like Liz 4.5% Kendal and rent a gob self publicist Jess Philips in the Shadow Cabinet, along with right wingers who backed Blair to the hilt in genocidal murder of 500,000 Iraqis and the subsequent evolvement of mentalist sects including ISIS.
That should be enough for @Smurf[ to rejoin the Peoples Party. He better hurray as the expelled from the Party following breaking its rules, assistant War criminal in Chief Alistair Campbell will be Sir Knight of the Realms next invitee back to top up his Blairite empire.

I’m no Labour supporter but he is more likely to have credibility with swing voters than Corbyn so he may be the Labour party’s last hope....whether they like it or not.

Swing voters is that like, throw all the candidates into a ring and pick one out blindfolded?

This thread has been viewed 63263 times.