It’s Sir Keir

These bloody Blairites in a Labour Government eh. Bloody Tories they are. Let's instead elect leaders that have no chance of ever winning. Better losing than having some not real socialist leader who implements social democracy that sees huge increases in the NHS budget. Red bloody Tories....

That could have been written by Tom Newton Dunn the political editor of The Sun, who has said very similar in interviews . In light of the leaked 800 page report on antisemitism your comments are very vacuous and not without irony. Mind you the hopeless Blairite candidate you supported, Mrs 8%, Liz Kendal, before you stamped your feet and ripped up your Party card, is now a Shadow Minister. Some solace perhaps.

I didn’t realise he’d died big g. Yeh I’d read some if his stuff, unlike many statisticians he often explained things in a very calm and understandable way. On the antisemitism issue my colleague Greg philo has a book out about the media’s reporting which I think you’d find interesting called ‘bad news for labour’.

I am an Associate non voting member of Jewish Voice for Labour, as I am not Jewish. This group of Jewish Labour Party members are a breath of fresh air. The constant ,unremitting daily unfounded attacks on Corbyn about antisemitism, as you are well aware, by the right wing cabal of the Board of Deputies of British Jews, the Jewish Chronicle, the Labour Friends of Israel, various Blairite MP'S , the Daily Mail, Sun, Express and so called liberal Guardian, Independent, the Chief Rabbi and Benjamin Netanyahu FFS ,was to defeat him on commendable left reformist agenda and his lifelong support for the Palestinian cause.

Bouncers who swallowed that guff at the time, should read the splendid Harvey Goldsteins analytical destruction of the myth above.
I know the score however Gareth, tell Greg Philo that I have purchased his book tonight, arriving on Friday. Will not be dissapointed .......

"At last! Here is a book that rigorously examines the facts behind the allegations of antisemitism in the Labour Party. The reality is more shocking, and more surprising, than the headlines in the press would have you believe. Here is the evidence - read it. Then learn the lessons suggested here." – Ken Loach

"What the careful research reported in this book reveals is a successful disinformation campaign. Anyone who cares for facts needs to read it." – Colin Leys, honorary professor at Goldsmiths University of London

"Bad News for Labour' shines a bright light on the real reasons behind this manufactured crisis and the truth at the heart of it. Recommended." – Alexei Sayle, comedian, actor and author

That could have been written by Tom Newton Dunn the political editor of The Sun, who has said very similar in interviews . In light of the leaked 800 page report on antisemitism your comments are very vacuous and not without irony. Mind you the hopeless Blairite candidate you supported, Mrs 8%, Liz Kendal, before you stamped your feet and ripped up your Party card, is now a Shadow Minister. Some solace perhaps.

There should be a full and independent investigation into Labour's last two GE's. Anyone found guilty of campaigning against the party in they campaigns should be expelled. There should be no place for anyone who deliberately undermined the prospect of a Labour Government by wanting a Tory win. I've long said to you that I'd rather have a more radical Labour party but I just can't see such a proposition ever winning in the UK. And certainly not with a leader who is out of his depth (though on a personal level I like him but let's be honest he's not 'Got it'). So I'd rather compromise and have a moderate UK Labour Government than a Tory one. Blair & Brown for me were good for the UK. Certainly better than Thatcher, Major, Cameron, May & Johnson.

Another Green World by Brian Eno

The leaked Labour report should have been an explosive scandal

ex Roxy, Brian Eno

The revelations in the leaked Labour report are a genuine scandal

There should be a full and independent investigation into Labour's last two GE's. Anyone found guilty of campaigning against the party in they campaigns should be expelled. There should be no place for anyone who deliberately undermined the prospect of a Labour Government by wanting a Tory win.

Do not be naive Kenny. There will not be an Independent enquiry against these Blairite gangsters. The Knight of the Realm is a Trojan Horse . The horse has fallen at the first fence. I was on the Scottish Council of the GMB and saw the utterly right wing Whitty opportunist , another lamentable,sevices rendered ,Sir manoeuvring against the left at National GMB National Conference which I attended as a left wing Scottish Delegate in a left wing Scottish Delegation, they couldnae handle us.
Starmer has negotiated this shite better than Blair could have hoped to do. Trojan horse indeed.

Wake up Kenny you and other Lefts were asked to consider this before the vote.

The Knight of the Realm is a Trojan Horse . The horse has fallen at the first fence.

Just the fifty point advantage over Steptoe in the approval ratings

And a 68% approval within the party :sm113:

What Big G disnae seem tae get is that the extreme left wing media outlets spout just as much pish as the extreme right wing media. Unless a party wants tae remain in opposition it must choose a leader and policies that are attractive to the electorate as a whole and not just a few party extremists.IMO

What Big G disnae seem tae get is that the extreme left wing media outlets spout just as much pish as the extreme right wing media.

.....where is this mythical extreme right wing media. Do you mean Tory supporting Sun, Mail, Express, Times, Telegragh,Evening Standard and other shit rags which are hardly the National Front News. The MSM have not and will not hold Johnson mobs feet to the fire. Not gonnae happen, enjoy your daily read.

The proof of the pudding is in the eating.
An Ipsos Mori poll has found that the public thinks TV presenter Piers Morgan and even the tame journalists allowed to ask questions at the government’s daily briefings – are doing a better job than Labour leader Keir Starmer at holding Boris Johnson’s government to account over its mishandling of the coronavirus crisis. Go figure.

Do not be naive Kenny. There will not be an Independent enquiry against these Blairite gangsters. The Knight of the Realm is a Trojan Horse . The horse has fallen at the first fence. I was on the Scottish Council of the GMB and saw the utterly right wing Whitty opportunist , another lamentable,sevices rendered ,Sir manoeuvring against the left at National GMB National Conference which I attended as a left wing Scottish Delegate in a left wing Scottish Delegation, they couldnae handle us.
Starmer has negotiated this shite better than Blair could have hoped to do. Trojan horse indeed.

Wake up Kenny you and other Lefts were asked to consider this before the vote.

I'd personally rather have any kind of Labour Government at Westminster than a Tory one. It disgusts me that the hard left in Labour would rather have a Tory Government than a social democratic Labour Government. And likewise that the right wing of Labour would rather see a Tory Government than a socialist one. It's too broad a church. There's several different parties within that party. And that's why Tories will govern Westminster in pretty much perpetuity.

While I shouldn't speak for Big G I will here. He has wanted Labour elected at every election, but also wanted them to move left, thats a perfectly reasonable position for him to take. These Blairites didn't want Labour elected. The favoured May and Johnson. There's no equivalence here.

By and by Gareth. My copy of Bad News For Labour arrived on Friday. Picked it up and couldnae put it down over the weekend. Brilliant. It is sometimes difficult for individuals to assert what is painfully obvious, against the lies of the billionaire press baron controlled media. Greg Philo, Mike Berry, Justin Schlosberg, Antony Lerman snd David Miller wonderfully, analytically, layer by layer, show through actual evidence, what the score is and shatters the MSM and Labour's right wing MP'S, guff along with a host of unrepresentative Jewish groups, to weaponise so called antisemitism, to attack Corbyn who less we forget for decades supported the cause of Palestinians. That is not antisemitic. Their raison d'etre was not to have a progressive left Social Democratic government. As elsewhere in Europe in the not so distant past . Certainly not one that challenged the Apartheid regime in Israel.

By and by Gareth. My copy of Bad News For Labour arrived on Friday. Picked it up and couldnae put it down over the weekend. Brilliant. It is sometimes difficult for individuals to assert what is painfully obvious, against the lies of the billionaire press baron controlled media. Greg Philo, Mike Berry, Justin Schlosberg, Antony Lerman snd David Miller wonderfully, analytically, layer by layer, show through actual evidence, what the score is and shatters the MSM and Labour's right wing MP'S, guff along with a host of unrepresentative Jewish groups, to weaponise so called antisemitism, to attack Corbyn who less we forget for decades supported the cause of Palestinians. That is not antisemitic. Their raison d'etre was not to have a progressive left Social Democratic government. As in elsewhere in Europe. Certainly not one that challenged the Apartheid regime in Israel.

No issue with that. However, let's not pretend that the hard left want the new Labour leadership to succeed.

Firstly, what is your definition of hard left, is it the same people christened by the gutter Sun rag as Loony Left. Surprised you have not used Extremists, in your political vocabulary. The same gutter MSM have rebranded Blairites who jumped ship and those in the Parliamentary Labour Party who certainly used every sinue in their bodies to ensure Corbyn would not succeed, who Sir Starmer has promoted to the Shadow Cabinet , not as Blarites or right wing Labour, but Centrists and Moderates, much nicer. Good guys bad guys. Deary me.
Secondly what is your empirical fact based evidence of your assertion about wanting Starmer to fail.

Corbyn himself and his policies ensured Corbyn would not succeed. And I dont see what's wrong with political moderates. I should imagine that Smurfs empirical fact based evidence is based on listening to labour supporters like yourself continually slagging Starmer off.

Corbyn's policies you say. Don't suppose you know how a manifesto is composed and the role of Labour Party's Conference role in that. The 2017 Manifesto was similar to that of 2019 and came within 2500 strategic votes of victory.

In the 2017 general election, the Labour Party received 12,878,460 votes.
Which was a massive incease of what it achieved in recent elections.The biggest increase in vote share since Clement Attlee's victory in 1945, and was the party’s biggest since Tony Blair’s victory in 1997.
Can you or the Smurf felly explain to me the reasons for this. You argue that Labour’s defeat in 2019 was due to Jeremy Corbyn and the manifesto being too left-wing but fail to account for why the party had fared so well in 2017, within touching distance of victory, with Corbyn as leader and a similar manifest.

Okay then mr Pedantic. Corbyn and his party's policies

Corbyn's policies you say. Don't suppose you know how a manifesto is composed and the role of Labour Party's Conference role in that. The 2017 Manifesto was similar to that of 2019 and came within 2500 strategic votes of victory.

Which was a massive incease of what it achieved in recent elections.The biggest increase in vote share since Clement Attlee's victory in 1945, and was the party’s biggest since Tony Blair’s victory in 1997.
Can you or the Smurf felly explain to me the reasons for this. You argue that Labour’s defeat in 2019 was due to Jeremy Corbyn and the manifesto being too left-wing but fail to account for why the party had fared so well in 2017, within touching distance of victory, with Corbyn as leader and a similar manifest.

It's not pedantic to know and understand how policies are made. What's your take on the question posed to you?

It's not pedantic to know and understand how policies are made. What's your take on the question posed to you and Smurf?

I think you know what I meant big yin and as leader he was responsible and the majority of the electorate didn't think like you do where he's concerned.
He was unelectable and unfortunately Boris should have been as well. I think Starmer might have a good chance at the next election after all the Torys fuck ups

Starmer forensically slaughtered the buffoon at PMQ's today. Sorry but there's no way Corbyn would have been capable of that.

Laura Kuenssberg used the word forensic on the 1 o'clock News, the Mirror said Keir Starmers forensic line of questioning, the anti Corbyn pro Starmer Guardian said Starmers forensic questioning, the Tory supporting Evening Standard the word “forensic” is the one that everyone will use about Sir Keir’s performance, the rabidly Tory Telegraph said forensic PMQ, and not forgetting the anti Corbyn pro Starmer Smurf of the Bounce says so too. Praise and hypebole from the Tory MSM was predictable in my opinion.
I watched it.Johnson’s decisions have been not merely bad, nor incompetent. They are criminal. The 6 questions put to the hopeless Johnson, by Starmer have been asked and discussed hear on the Bounce, nothing that bigmanandy wouldnae have asked.

STARMERS OPPOSITION:FORENSIC FLIP FLOPPING

You're probably correct with that.
Considering 99% of english people dont have a scooby about Scottish politics they'll do as they always do .
Listen to the BBC, read the Sun, read the Daily Mail and hang on Johnsons every word.
And we know the truth is a stranger to Boris.

Hang on. Maybe I'm picking you up wrong but are you suggesting that English people are 99% right-wing daily mail drones? Sorry, that's not borne out by an objective look at the political landscape. England actually had a left wing party, acceptable to people as far left on the political spectrum as @GORDONSMITH7, that nearly won a general election in 2017. Scotland very much didn't.

Yes there's a big tory vote but there's also a huge traditional socialist one. And a soft left presence. Pretending that we're all foaming thatcherites while Scots are to a man staunch leftists is nonsense.

Laura Kuenssberg used the word forensic on the 1 o'clock News, the Mirror said Keir Starmers forensic line of questioning, the anti Corbyn pro Starmer Guardian said Starmers forensic questioning, the Tory supporting Evening Standard the word “forensic” is the one that everyone will use about Sir Keir’s performance, the rabidly Tory Telegraph said forensic PMQ, and not forgetting the anti Corbyn pro Starmer Smurf of the Bounce says so too. Praise and hypebole from the Tory MSM was predictable in my opinion.
I watched it.Johnson’s decisions have been not merely bad, nor incompetent. They are criminal. The 6 questions put to the hopeless Johnson, by Starmer have been asked and discussed hear on the Bounce, nothing that bigmanandy wouldnae have asked.

Bigmanandy would be a better leader of the Labour Party than Corbyn and I mean that fondly and genuinely.

The proof of the pudding is in the eating.
An Ipsos Mori poll has found that the public thinks TV presenter Piers Morgan and even the tame journalists allowed to ask questions at the government’s daily briefings – are doing a better job than Labour leader Keir Starmer at holding Boris Johnson’s government to account over its mishandling of the coronavirus crisis. Go figure.

I wonder how they would have rated Jeremy.

I read somewhere, maybe one of your links, maybe not, that most of the tory press were out to get black death Boris as he is now seen as toxic. Let him get through this, carry the can then get the boot.

It's happening already. The real right wingers have already written him off as a milquetoast, bending in the face of leftist pressure to do a socialist rights-infringing lockdown. The centrists think he should carry the can for killing everybody. He has no constituency left.

Hang on. Maybe I'm picking you up wrong but are you suggesting that English people are 99% right-wing daily mail drones? Sorry, that's not borne out by an objective look at the political landscape. England actually had a left wing party, acceptable to people as far left on the political spectrum as @GORDONSMITH7, that nearly won a general election in 2017. Scotland very much didn't.

Yes there's a big tory vote but there's also a huge traditional socialist one. And a soft left presence. Pretending that we're all foaming thatcherites while Scots are to a man staunch leftists is nonsense.
Indeed you are picking me up wrongly.
I suggested the English(99%) in general know nothing of what goes on North of the border. Politically or otherwise.
I was replying to HibeeKev ...post 28.

Indeed you are picking me up wrongly.
I suggested the English(99%) in general know nothing of what goes on North of the border. Politically or otherwise.
I was replying to HibeeKev ...post 28.

You said that 99% of English people will "do as they always do. Listen to the BBC, read the Sun, read the Daily Mail and hang on Johnsons every word." Sorry, that's bollocks, given we actually had a mainstream properly left-wing party voted for by millions of people as recently as December.

Aye. Which party ?

By and by Gareth. My copy of Bad News For Labour arrived on Friday. Picked it up and couldnae put it down over the weekend. Brilliant. It is sometimes difficult for individuals to assert what is painfully obvious, against the lies of the billionaire press baron controlled media. Greg Philo, Mike Berry, Justin Schlosberg, Antony Lerman snd David Miller wonderfully, analytically, layer by layer, show through actual evidence, what the score is and shatters the MSM and Labour's right wing MP'S, guff along with a host of unrepresentative Jewish groups, to weaponise so called antisemitism, to attack Corbyn who less we forget for decades supported the cause of Palestinians. That is not antisemitic. Their raison d'etre was not to have a progressive left Social Democratic government. As elsewhere in Europe in the not so distant past . Certainly not one that challenged the Apartheid regime in Israel.

I thought you'd appreciate it. They've done fascinating work over the years on Israel, on climate change, on refugees. Good lad as well

banner 4 (1).jpg
I thought you'd appreciate it. They've done fascinating work over the years on Israel, on climate change, on refugees. Good lad as well

You can only do what ye can do G.

So Kier Starmer has said what I've been saying on here for ages Corbyn was an unpopular leader on the doorstep and labours overload of policies meant people didn't trust them to do anything.

No surprise that Starmers interview was given to Big Business and Finance Capital's mouthpiece the Financial Times who constantly attacked Corbyn and constantly lauded Starmer, as did the Economist. As Aesop said 'A man is known by the company he keeps'
During his Deputy Leader campaign he was utterly opportunistic, calling himself the Unity candidate with left wing spin.Unfotunately some prominent Lefts like Owen Jones and Paul Mason have been been taken in by this nonsense .

I dont think so, I would say 30 to 40% have been.

Aye. Which party ?

I don't believe that's a genuine question and I'm not sure what point you're trying to make by asking it.

I dont think so, I would say 30 to 40% have been.

Roughly the same as in Scotland then. Which is borne out by social attitude surveys that show very little difference in attitude between England and Scotland.

Yes but the majority of left minded people vote SNP in Scotland, picking up on your "Scotland very much didn't" comment.

this of course is true, but there's a big difference between beliefs and behaviour and the reality is that there is a much bigger difference in terms of actual voting habits in elections than the social attitudes results would suggest

This thread has been viewed 63253 times.