Winter Window 2020

We signed McNulty and Omeonga last January.... How did that work our for us. If they do really well, it’s going to be hard to keep a hold of them. If McNulty was permanent I’d be fairly happy about it all.

Correct and never did enough in this windae tae rectify it. I'm no unhappy with the players we just signed, I'm unhappy with the lack of players we signed, it wisnae enough. They'll be wanting the dosh for season tickets soon nand they'll be trying tae spin this as some sort of success, though what they think they foll is something else. Seasons dropped last year, I believe they will drop again this year (particularly if there's any £££ increase). Time tae get the finger oot.
I Ddont disagree dude, im just trying to put a positive spin on things, we need to move forward, hearing from our owner in the AGM will be a start as will winning games and giving us a more positive outlook going towards the end of the season.

You’d think if a striker does get injured then you’d put Boyle upfront for a game or 2,decent finisher these days

I Ddont disagree dude, im just trying to put a positive spin on things, we need to move forward, hearing from our owner in the AGM will be a start as will winning games and giving us a more positive outlook going towards the end of the season.
I'm sure those running Hibs will dae that for you ??

Lol Kenny Millers available if need be :lauff:

So letting two forwards go and only bringing in one doesn't make us weaker lol gies peace.

We had one centre forward doing the business, another one who didn't give a toss and a young one who wasn't good enough.

We now have the Welsh Goal Machine and a Scottish international forward. And somehow we are worse off? Gies strength.

We had one centre forward doing the business, another one who didn't give a toss and a young one who wasn't good enough.

We now have the Welsh Goal Machine and a Scottish international forward. And somehow we are worse off? Gies strength.

*&*^ are deluded if they thought our team would be fixed in one window. Personally I'm delighted with our winter window. Well done Hibs :041:

Like this way of looking at it, think we'll be fine 2nd half of the season. Not sure we'll make 4th but it's definitely doable as we've strengthened more than teams around us bar maybe Aberdeen

I’m unsure if we are necessarily week we than before. We have lot shaw go and brought Gullan back. For me, Shaw wasn’t good enough and we cashed in well on him. Gullan was doing well at Raith - top goal scorer I believe?

Yeah it would have been nice to have had the option of Kamberi and McNulty but the former has shown their true colours and we are better off without.

Boyle has played up top plenty of times under Lennon and he was used excellently against them gunts too.

Not too hung up on this Nisbet boy as like @1875 I hadn’t heard of him until we were linked with him.

I’m surprised we didn’t see more movement out of the club. Although I reckon had Porteous and Naismith not got injured we probably would have seen Jackson & James sent back down the road.

you don't agree terms if your club doesn't accept thats obvious
That's incorrect. As long as the club give the player permission to speak to the other club they can. It's quite common for both club > player and club > club negotiations to be happening concurrently. Especially on 'deadline day'.

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

That's incorrect. As long as the club give the player permission to speak to the other club they can. It's quite common for both club > player and club > club negotiations to be happening concurrently. Especially on 'deadline day'.

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

I've never been involved in transfer dealings but i'd be amazed if a club gave permission for their player to speak to another club before said club offers enough to buy him

I would think they would have a heads up through agent what he would want wages though.

It looks obvious now that Dunfermline weren't going to sell him so i don't understand why they'd grant permission for him to talk to us and possibly leave themselves with an unhappy player who feels they are holding him back ?

and
we paid more than that for Keith Wright 30 years ago, which would be about £200k in today’s money....
just saying
And we sold Bunion to finance the deal.

It looks obvious now that Dunfermline weren't going to sell him so i don't understand why they'd grant permission for him to talk to us and possibly leave themselves with an unhappy player who feels they are holding him back ?
Maybe ross will look at free transfers it was a shame we didn't get him but for us to offer that kind of money is impressive by the club .
Dunfermline obviously looking at shankland as a rule of thumb .

Interesting.
Lotsa moans about loans on this thread.
I'm not moaning about loaning.
Especially the loan that took a prize moan out of ER.
Damn that Bosman fella.
Wonder if Boris , in our new Valhalla, will give us back the 'old days' in football?
The one where clubs had players tied down for years on 'option' contracts?
That's the only way to put paid to loan deals.
Anyway, I'm reasonably happy with our dealings out and inward..........Vela, slagged off from minute one. Maxwell, slagged off. Shaw , not quite slagged off , but not good enough(allegedly).
McNulty, same as last visit will do.
Omeonga, ditto.
McGinn, solid professional , though I've seen him only a few times playing against Hibs.
Docherty, ditto.
Leaving about 10.30 for ER.
GGTTH.

The fact most of our arrivals are loans does not bother me one iota. That's mainly what you get in January. There is very little available in January at our level or above which is going to improve us that we can realistically sign on a permanent deal. A Championship player whom they clearly rated is one such player, and we failed to do the deal....and on top of that we let one of our main strikers leave before we had secured the replacement. I'm sorry, that's what it comes down to. . Doidge and McNulty...that's our two first team strikers until May. They had better not get injured that's all I can say.
Not sure I agree with this. Playing Doidge, McNulty & Boyle every week may not happen. Kamberi (Hunprick) could play wide off a striker in an attacking 3. Doidge and McNulty arent that type of player.

Ross may have to relook at his preferred starting system as result. Factor in Scotty Allan and now Greg Docherty and I doubt if Doidge, Boyle and McNulty will start together often.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Unless either or both get injured. Being left with only 2 recognised strikers might be your idea of having been strengthened and having a decent transfer windae, I doubt if it's many other peoples. Nae doubt those running Hibs will also try tae spin it that way when the begging letters for season ticket renewals are out in a couple months.

Seems tae me there are people at ER who think they can still live off a cup win nearly 4 years ago, it's been going doonhill again ever since then and they cannae.

Dunfermline mucked up here.

Making the offer we did looked to me and probably them that we were really keen to get him and the Pars thought they could just keep on squeezing a bit more and more. In the end they couldn't and as you say they now have an unhappy player to deal with.

Catch 22 situation, like would we be happy with a clear second choice signing? Gullan might get his chance now, plenty of us have been saying the youngsters need more opportunities.

Gullan isn’t a striker.

Dunfermline mucked up here.

Making the offer we did looked to me and probably them that we were really keen to get him and the Pars thought they could just keep on squeezing a bit more and more. In the end they couldn't and as you say they now have an unhappy player to deal with.

And we're left discussing bringing in a 40 year old or scraping round for some unattached player(s)
It's a bit depressing this "excellent window"*

*copyright Hibs announcer

A bit naive there ,Forza.
An agent can speak to anyone at any time.
Tha lad will have known what Hibs had to offer.

Gullan is a good attacking midfielder/winger, not a striker IMO....and is still very raw,

I'm quite excited about Gullan. Raith are my "second team" of sorts due to a few of my family supporting them and he has been absolutely fantastic for them.

Ok it's only League One, but he had the most fruitful loan spell of any of our development squad by quite some diatance. Raith fans are gutted that he's gone.

Unless either or both get injured. Being left with only 2 recognised strikers might be your idea of having been strengthened and having a decent transfer windae, I doubt if it's many other peoples. Nae doubt those running Hibs will also try tae spin it that way when the begging letters for season ticket renewals are out in a couple months.

Seems tae me there are people at ER who think they can still live off a cup win nearly 4 years ago, it's been going doonhill again ever since then and they cannae.

The Hibs first team is now far and away better than before the window opened. I fully expect Hibs to make up the striker numbers with a free transfer. It's a no brainer that we are now in a better position.

A bit naive there ,Forza.
An agent can speak to anyone at any time.
Tha lad will have known what Hibs had to offer.

So tapping players is legal now , cos thats what that would amount to

In professional team sports, tapping up (British English) or tampering (American English) is an attempt to persuade a player contracted to one team to transfer to another team, without the knowledge or permission of the player's current team. This kind of approach is often made through the player's agent. It is expressly forbidden in many professional leagues in their collective bargaining agreements, but is not illegal.

So tapping players is legal now , cos thats what that would amount to

In professional team sports, tapping up (British English) or tampering (American English) is an attempt to persuade a player contracted to one team to transfer to another team, without the knowledge or permission of the player's current team. This kind of approach is often made through the player's agent. It is expressly forbidden in many professional leagues in their collective bargaining agreements, but is not illegal.
An agent is not signed to a club.
He can talk to anyone he chooses.

An agent is not signed to a club.
He can talk to anyone he chooses.

I give up

I give up
What bit dont you get, Darren? The fact that it happens even though.....by the letter of the law.....it shouldnt?
Ever do 75mph on a motorway? You shouldn't. It's against the law.
That's life.

The Hibs first team is now far and away better than before the window opened. I fully expect Hibs to make up the striker numbers with a free transfer. It's a no brainer that we are now in a better position.
I agree that we will be a better position than pre-window if we manage to get in another striker on the free transfer market. We needed to bolster our midfield with strength and energy and we got Omeonga and Docherty who are both very good players. McNulty is an intelligent penalty-box striker and I think he will link well with Doidge and as long as he gets decent service (and avoids injury !) he will score goals for us. Paul McGinn..well, listening to the manager last night it looks clear that he had been targetting him for a while and was going to bring him in during the summer window, but his hand was forced this month due to the loss of Naismith and Porteous for the season. Bogdan I still think will be our first choice goalkeeper from next season onwards, but for the moment is an excellent back-up for Marciano. I am optimistic we can secure McNulty and Omeonga on permanent deals in the summer.

Yeah a lot of people see it as a numbers game, but all that does is affect the size of the squad. That would be ok if we had a strong enough first 11, but we didnae and it needed, and received, surgery. Our first team is now considerably stronger than before and that's why it has been a very solid windae.

Its an injury / suspension / loss of form up front that concerns me in a team that regularly needs to score to avoid defeat

Not sure I agree with this. Playing Doidge, McNulty & Boyle every week may not happen. Kamberi (Hunprick) could play wide off a striker in an attacking 3. Doidge and McNulty arent that type of player.

Ross may have to relook at his preferred starting system as result. Factor in Scotty Allan and now Greg Docherty and I doubt if Doidge, Boyle and McNulty will start together often.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Horgan could play that wide left attacking role imo.

Horgan isnae consistent enough for me, good in some games anonymous in others, a bit like Hunberi actually.

Agree with that. But the point I'm trying to make is our team is flexible.

I was hoping Miller was being signed to keep Horgan out of the team.

I’m happy that the club signed players that will play for the jersey rather than disinterested journeymen. As previously, we are still able to sign free agents aren’t we?

Usually folk on a free in this window are Journeymen.

Until that happens it's just your opinion, speculation, if or buts and nowt else. What is a fact is that we currently have 2 recognised strikers and if anything happens tae them as the squad currently stands we're stuffed.

I'm not going tae go roond in circles with you on this, you have your opinion I have mine, you are happy with that transfer windae, I,m no, I guess we'll see what happens.

Until that happens it's just your opinion, speculation, if or buts and nowt else. What is a fact is that we currently have 2 recognised strikers and if anything happens tae them as the squad currently stands we're stuffed.

I'm not going tae go roond in circles with you on this, you have your opinion I have mine, you are happy with that transfer windae, I,m no, I guess we'll see what happens.

Do you not count Boyle as a striker too? Seems to me he's played that role just as well if not better than Hunberi this season?
I guess we might add another too since we were trying so hard to get Nisbet.

This thread has been viewed 35921 times.